Need a new Power Supply, graphics card not getting enough - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2007, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
706
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default Need a new Power Supply, graphics card not getting enough

I recently helped a friend install a new graphics card. They didn't need anything top of the line and so bought a GeForce 6600LE. I made sure to check it was compatible with the setup, but I never thought to check the power supply as I know very little about them.

After installing and restarting it came up with a message saying the graphics card was not receiving enough power and so is being run at a lower performance level.

So it looks like I might have to replace the power supply. Firstly I guess I need to know how to figure out how much power the computer would need, and I need to know what sort of power supply is currently in it. Also what kind of compatability issues could there be with a new power supply, could it be incompatible with the motherboard, could it be physically too large for the case?
__________________

706 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

What is the rest of the specs of the computer? Processor, RAM, HD, Etc..
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
706
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default

Unfortunately I don't have it with me so I can't be specific, but the general spec are a 3.0ghz Intel Pentium 4, 512 RAM, a wireless network card.. I'm not sure about the rest, but if it will help I can get the information in a day or so.
706 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Here's a good power supply for under $50. 450watts.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817159044
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
706
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default

Yeah I looked around at the site I usually use to price computer parts, nothing too expensive. I live in Australia, so prices are a little different, but I'm sure I can find what I need for less than $100. I'm not sure about it being compatible with the computer though.
706 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 04:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
706
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default

I know I need a 400 or higher watt power supply now, but I'm still not sure of compatibility. Is it possible that I'll buy one and it'll be a weird size or shape and won't fit in the case, or are all power supplies the same general size?
__________________

706 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.