Need a new graphics card. HELP PLZ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default Need a new graphics card. HELP PLZ

Hi guys, i need a new graphics card in my pc, because my fx 5200 does not meed the minimum requirements for edler of scroles oblivion wich i have purchased just the otherday.

I basicly need help finding a card that will be able to comfortably play oblivion. I only wanna spend between 100 - 200 australian dollars, NOT US DOLLERS.

At the moment I got a
AMD 64 3200+
768MB DDR Ram
FX 5200 128mb
80gb hdd
Sound blaster Audigy 2.

What would you guys recomend me doing to my pc to make it run oblivion without any major lag. ANd without any major costs.
__________________

__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

what socket is your mobo?

give us an aussy site so we can see the prices of vid cards..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

I got an 8x AGP socket. www.gamedude.com.au
www.thediskshop.com.au
__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

And another thing, do i need to upgrade my power supply, if so how do i find out what mine currently is?
__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

To play oblivion at a decent setting your going to need atleast a 6600GT,And by the look's of it they are around $250 and up over there.
Shumway is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default

Heres what i reccomend about for about $204 AUD

im not sure if it will play Oblivion but it should if the rest of your system is decent

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131010
__________________
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5568/cky9qc.jpg
They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

GeCube ATi Radeon X1300 256Mb AGP

Would this do?? If not why?
__________________

__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.