Need a new computer. But only have like $300 to spend.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2005, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default Need a new computer. But only have like $300 to spend..

My computer is a 5yrold Dell Dimension 4100. 1ghrtz, 312ram and a 20gb harddrive. I basically just need something a little faster and with more harddrive space. I'm not really a gamer, but I'd like to be able to play TheSims without the lagging.

I don't want to build one from scratch and I don't really want to build one with a "Barebones case" either. I want to just keep my moniter, speakers, cddroms..etc and switch it to a new one to save some money untill I'm ready to upgrade.

Any sites besides tigerdirect or newegg that will build a comp and only put what you want in it and leave things out?

Is Ebay a good place to get something like this? I was looking on there earlier but couldn't really find anything. Some had too much stuff in it, others didn't have enough.. How much ram should I be looking for? A lot of comps I'm seeing only have like 512..

Any advice?

No0b is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 58

Go Dell.

For $300...I wouldn't expect much more than 256MB, so if you're getting 512MB, thats a real bargain.

Flanker2 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

yup dell
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 09:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

As much as we hate to say it, your better off with a dell.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 09:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

Monarch Computer has systems like that...but they start at $750 so that's not an option.

I will NOT say Dell. I'll let someone else say it...

Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 09:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to trigger_sad

Damn $300 dollars kinda puts you in a spot, do you HAVE to buy it now? I'd recommend saving your money and getting something decent later on because you won't get much for $300..
trigger_sad is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 10:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce

MUST you have a new computer? If you just need hard drive space, I'd tack on another hard drive...

300 bucks won't buy you anything faster to justify the upgrade. I'd get a new hard drive for now, save the money, then build later.
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 06:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4

Ok on second thought, guess I'll go with the barebones kits. I'd be wasting $200 on software and hardware I don't need with Dell. The thing with the barebones kits is just that I don't really know wtf I'm looking at with them. Besides the basics like how much harddrive space I want.. it gets confusing. Like on TigerDirect with their 500 kinds of AMD, 10 different kinds of 512Ram..etc. I want one that comes with the memory too. Any simple guides on this stuff anywhere? :/

I just noticed the "pay later" thing on Newegg and TigerDirect, so that might even be an option for me to spend a little more. I don't want to go too high though.
No0b is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon

I know that it is a little more than you wanted to spend, but I got an eMachines T3990 for $350. You could put your old CD-ROM and HD into the new computer without much trouble and then you would have a system that was pretty good.
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*

dude your going with a Dell lol. but really i hate them but there cheap so go with it. Make sure you spit in there face for us ok .

Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.