Need more Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Need more Ram

Ok my parents computer needs more ram right now it only has 256 it is only used for work and alot of multitaking and it dosn't seem like 256 is enough what do you think i should go up to on it
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 12:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

add another 256 dimm 512MB should be enough for basic work environment
__________________

Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

to give an answer we would need to know what operating system and what sort of software. if its a business computer i would say just throw in an extra 256mb and run dual channel
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.