Need A Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default Need A Mobo

Yo.

I'm building from scratch and have most of the essentials (At least I have them in mind...).

Here's what I got:

Athlon64 X2 3800
GeForce 6800 256mb
Western Digital Raptor, 10,000 RPM 74gb SATA

What I need out of a MOBO:

939 Socket compatible with and X2
PCI Express for the Video Card
SATA Compatible
Preferibly Good Sound *Optical* and LAN aboard
Enough PCI Slots
Dual Channel possible and at least 2 g of RAM

I was looking at this:

MSI K8N Neo4 SLI Socket 939 ATX

and one of the GIGABYTE comparable ones.

QUESTIONS:

1. Am I good with the MSI?
2. Any higher quality MOBO brands? I heard ASUS was lacking with AMD
3. What exactly is the difference with the SLI ones...


Thanks
__________________

Hawkk is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

MSI are good, but not extremely overclockable. They overclock some, but not a lot.

Top-o-the-line right now would have to be DFI Lanparty mobos.

SLI mobos are made so as to be able to run two PCI-e graphics cards linked together. Not that you have to, but you could. Plus, they have nVidia's latest chipset.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 70
Default

1. MSI is pretty good too(Diamond version is better, but I don't think they have that in U.S.)
2. I like my Gigabyte motherboard you can consider about it.
3. SLI can have two graphic cards at the same time.
amdrocks is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

1.msi is a good brand
2.i dont know about higher quality but DFI is another option
3.Sli mobos u can have another 6800 and run both of them.google sli or go to nvidia's website
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default

OK guys. All I hear about is this DFI board. But does it support my X2?!

it says Athlon 64, FX, and Sempron. No X2
Hawkk is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 70
Default

just update the bios and it'll able to support x2
this is the motherboard I'm talking about, I like Gigabyte better.
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/MotherBoa...-K8NXP-SLI.htm
amdrocks is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Default

I'm somewhat a noob at all this tho. Is digging into the bios to make it work for an X2 gonna be a problem? It is up front and simple?
__________________

Hawkk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.