need a lookover please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default need a lookover please

hey.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=2&NoMapp=0


just a few quick questions before i buy.


does that board NEED a 4 pin power connector to work?

and by the oem processor..what exactly does that mean, it says it comes with a fan..do i get a heatsink also? and if I put another fan in the back of the case blowing out of the case, is that enough to keep it cool along with the proc fan or do i need more?

thanks for help
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Yes, it need the 4 pin and OEM in this case probably means that you won't get the fancy box that is comes in... but I have seen that OEM also doesn't come with a fan... Like newegg tells you when you look at their pics... you will get the product only.... other pics are for what you WON'T get... so you might only get the mobo and CPU that's it. but if it says in't included... well...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

thanks for the reply.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

dude don't buy that one it doesn't have even an agp slot, This one is 10 bucks more and socket 775 not 478

but realy I wouldn't buy either for that price range you would be way better off with This one

And This one has onboard video (if you want that) and an open pci express slot. and $99 after MIR.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
dude don't buy that one it doesn't have even an agp slot, This one is 10 bucks more and socket 775 not 478

but realy I wouldn't buy either for that price range you would be way better off with This one
Agree, get the AMD one, a lot betetr than the others.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

thanks for the input, didnt know which one to go with, i've had good luck w/ intel boards tho so thats why i started there.

btw in NO way is this thing going to be used for gaming or high quality graphics/video editing, this is mainly a virtual machine server(for up to 4 small machines at once) and a domain controller/file server so don't think i need an AMD because its better for that stuff so...

im also not necessarily looking for 64 bit power, its a low end server i dont have a need for 64 at all.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 05:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

ok so heres wat im down to, i dont need anything too big, i have all the parts i need other than the proc and the mobo

I have already
1X 250 GB HDD
1 80 GB HDD
1 512 2700 stick
1 256 2700 stick
case
psu
all that

and im down to...
this
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=2&NoMapp=0
and
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...205&CatId=1997

this or

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...BM-GVHZL-2800R

and

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=S457-1096

that

like i said earlier i do not need the 64 bit processing power

this is just going to be running windows server 2003 32 for a file server, DC and VM server so...yea
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 05:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude

And This one has onboard video (if you want that) and an open pci express slot. and $99 after MIR.
I would still go with that one it's still cheaper, But I do really like the gigabyte boards.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

interesting, dont remember seeing that one, don't need the PCIe tho, and again dont need 64 bit.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 06:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

I'm still leaning towards the Intel, mainly because I like intel boards, They both support what I want, however the non intel boards go a little overboard, I don't want 64 bit nor do i need it, i have absolutely no use for PCIe and the Intel board has an extra slot, the intel also adds 800 mhz, yet I know AMD's have the potential to perform better.

Any last thoughts before I purchase?
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.