Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2008, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

Would anyone know what's the largest size processor that I can upgrade to in a Gateway T6212, socket 939? Great forum! TNX
__________________

Kato7 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

Here are a list of Socket 939 cpu's from newegg:
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

What cpu do you have installed currently?
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

Largest size? die size?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 08:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

all the Socket 939 Processors are 90nm so they all are the biggest!!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

mabye he means best proccesor? the 4200+ should do.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 09:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

The FX-60 is/was the "biggest", as in baddest, CPU for the s939. I would love to lay my hands on one.

The Opteron 185 runs at the same speed, but has twice the cache.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

Why do you say is/was for the FX-60?? I have a 3200, I thought that they went above 4200, if I upgrade I might as well get the fastest/"largest" that they made. .....I think?? TNX
Kato7 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

well its just that even though FX-60 is the biggest baddest w/e cpu, you can't buy em no more...

mabye try some other sites. you should be able to find it.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

best ain't cheap...
AMD ATHLON FX-60 939 PROCESSOR - eBay (item 150202225333 end time Jan-08-08 20:37:56 PST)
*NR* Mint Cond AMD Athlon FX-60 Dual Core X2 939 CPU - eBay (item 270200911053 end time Jan-08-08 17:47:13 PST)
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 11:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Need Largest Processor Size For T6212 Sk 939?

Ouch! I should have said reasonably priced........Would the 4200 be the next best ?? What does the + mean after the 4200?

On Newegg I see that people are upgrading from the single core to the dual, this is what they're saying is the best 939 upgrade...
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache
OOS though.
__________________

Kato7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgraded, 939 parts F/S. Mobo, Ram, CPU, GFX TipsySmile Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 12-13-2007 03:17 AM
World’s Largest BSOD Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 11-09-2007 05:55 PM
Scientists Discover Largest Known Planet Outside of Solar System maroon1 Polls 14 08-21-2007 07:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.