need to know if i need agpx or pci video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2006, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default need to know if i need agpx or pci video card?

i need to buy new video card and im not sure if i need pci or agpx how can i find out?
__________________

IInd is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

go onto crucial.com website, do an online scan, then when its finished alot of info about your system will be on the screen, on the left somewhere it will say what type of graphics card you have
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

download CPUZ/install and look at the mainboard tab... at the bottom it'll tell you the graphcs interface. http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

jonny_uk: I couldn't get the crucial scan to work... gave me a notepad full of numbers and checksums... that's it...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
download CPUZ/install and look at the mainboard tab... at the bottom it'll tell you the graphcs interface. http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

jonny_uk: I couldn't get the crucial scan to work... gave me a notepad full of numbers and checksums... that's it...
you have to download the tiny plugin for it to work? as it should have stated?, then it scans which takes about 20 seconds and thats it
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: need to know if i need agpx or pci video card?

Quote:
Originally posted by IInd
i need to buy new video card and im not sure if i need pci or agpx how can i find out?
u mean PCIx and AGP, lol. go to google, type in Cpu-Z, and run it, it should tell u. if that doesnt work go get Everest Home Edition, and if u dont want that go to Start>Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager>Display Adapters>pick the video card and check interface.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default

lol actually crucial scan worked fine for me and i got the card installed... now the game wont read my joy stick right but all other games still do any one know why?
IInd is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Game might not be supported.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.