need input on graphics upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2011, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default need input on graphics upgrade

k so im runnig a crossfire build with 2x 4670's (runs skyrim on full ultra at around 35fps)
Was wondering what the comparable difference in the cards im looking at will make (fps increase wise)
currently running 2x
Newegg.com - HIS IceQ H467QS1GHA Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 AGP 4X/8X HDCP Ready Video Card

looking running 2x
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161379

also looking at 2x
Newegg.com - HIS IceQ H657QO1G Radeon HD 6570 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

the 4670's i have i paid 64$ for about 5 months ago (and are now currently over 100$ because i think someone found out how reliable and powerfull they were, and they run quiet/cool/and require no pcu input)

at full load in skyrim or rift i never see over 50% cpu or ram load. so im good on that end (ram is 4 gig of ddr3 1333mhz)(cpu is 3.0ghz quad core amd athlon x4-640)



this is my current setup




__________________

skyrift is offline  
Old 12-01-2011, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

so... you want to crossfire 2 low end cards?
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 12-01-2011, 11:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

I'm confused, you're currently running 2x AGP cards?
If that is the case, and considering their placement, you may not have PCIe slots for current gen cards.
Although; you are using an Athlon 640 and DDR3, so assuming a mis-link...

You'll be better off with an HD6870 or GTX 560 (non-Ti) for the same price.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-02-2011, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

im crossfiring 2 low end cards right now, paid under 130$ for the pair, and they outperform my brothers 300$ nvidia 500 series card. so for the money im getting a lot more.

My brother has an i7 /8 gig ddr3 2000mhz ram/nvidia gtx 570 ddr5 card and gets about 28fps at ultra settings on Rift.
Im getting about 42fps on ultra with my 64$ "low end cards" for almost 1/3 what he paid for his "high end card"

i dont like saying high end /low end cuz for the price the low end cards as you call them, can be crossfired and faaar out perform the high end cards for a fraction of the cost.. inmy opinon, the high end cards arnt high end at all and for the money, perform far worse than "low end" cards.

so back to my original question. based on the specs of my current cards vs what im looking at, how much of an fps increase would there be?


edit: my mobo has 4x pcie slots and 4x drr3 ram slots (2000mhz capacity per slot), so i can run quad graphics /load of ram, but i see no need to.
skyrift is offline  
Old 12-02-2011, 11:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

i call bs.... theres no WAY your 2 cards out perform a single GTX 570... no way. end of story

EDIT:

my research shows that your 2 cards have about about 1/4 to 1/2 the processing power of your brothers GTX 570

4670 crossfire:

3dmark vantage 6170
Crysis @ 1600 x 1200 30fps


GTX 570:

3dmark vantage: 21931
Crysis @ 1600 x 1200 63fps
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 12-03-2011, 12:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default

well what 4670 you comparing it to? my HDfactory overclocked IceQ 1gig or a 1/2gig non factory OC card? Card i originanly posted was as close to mine as i could find though their search, and come to find out i couldnt find my exact one cuz the ones i have are currently out of stock

and im running 2x of the 4670's in crossfire, not a single card, which makes a huge difference


here i went back to my order history with newegg and found the exact card i have
Newegg.com - HIS H467QR1GH Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

heres my actual card i have (one i posted b4 was as close as i could get to mine cuz i coulndt find mine on new egg originally cuz it was evidentally out of stock) so i went through my purchase history and found mine

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161315

also, i dont go by benchmarks or stats, i go by proven performance.

if i went and bought stuff for my 71 charger drag car, my late model dirt track car, or my 91 turbo/alcohol injected dodge r/t, based on what people told me the parts can do, id have a heap of **** and spent way more money than i should have.

something can say somthing can do this and that and is benchmarked at a certain thing, but what can it exactly do for the applications im using it for?

me and my brother play rift together, he gets 28fps at full ultra and i get 40-45 at same settings. sooo the benchmark means nothing to me because obviously my 130$ graphics setups is running the game smoother than his 300+$ even tho the "benchmark" says otherwise.

i go off what things can actually do, not what somthing says they can do.

if u look at all the most recent feedback on that card, everyone can run skyrim on ultra settings, with a single card, and im running duals...so yeah, its not made up / bs /etc

edit: also yur benchmarks are for single cards, not my 4670's running in crossfire for 130$ for the pair vs a single gtx570 for $300+

just noticed that; cuz i can ran crysis2 at 71fps with my cards (when i had crysis b4 i got new harddrive)
skyrift is offline  
Old 12-03-2011, 12:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

Even with 100% scaling, a GTX 570 would run circles around your dual 4670s. Benchmarks are more consistent, there are many more variables in gaming that contribute to FPS. The largest one being resolution.
Your brother has much more GPU processing power, more CPU processing power, and higher speed RAM.
All settings the same, including resolution, your brother's computer would have MUCH better performance than yours. He likely has a much higher resolution than you if what you are saying is true.

Edit:
Here is a website that gives you a decent idea of how video cards compare to each other.
PassMark Software - Video Card Benchmarks - High End Video Cards
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 12-03-2011, 01:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

Well... going by numbers alone I'm tempted to say 2x 6750s are your best upgrade route.

However, if you're already getting better FPS than a GTX570 on your current setup, then there is no reason to upgrade.
The GTX570 is, arguably, the 2nd best single chip GPU option available (after the GTX580), so if you're already smoking that then stay with what you've got.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 07:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

Yea you obviously have some demon possessed old GEN cards that out-perform the latest Tech.Anandtech has a bench guide showing 6870CF(closest Comparison to your rig) losing out to a single GTX580 . The easiest way to test yr rig against others is to view games in the highest RES with ultra settings.You are blessed to have those cards
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: need input on graphics upgrade

@ skyrift, please don't double and triple post. If you have something more to add to the conversation and no one else has replied since your last post (within a 24 hour period), please use the Edit Function (button looks like a pencil) to add the info to your last post.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to upgrade for Battlefield 3, need some input! braz New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-19-2011 12:11 PM
Upgrade Input insane84722 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-07-2011 02:25 AM
your input apreciated on graphics crosshairs13 System Upgrades 1 06-20-2009 11:52 AM
Graphics Card with TV Input Natalie105 System Upgrades 2 03-05-2009 08:38 PM
UPGRADE: need input and advice..help? overlord20 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-05-2008 12:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.