Need Ideas for Media/Home Computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

davo-man

Beta member
Hi everyone. I'm Dave and I'm fairly new to computers (so excuse me if I ask some dumb questions). I've decided that for my next computer, I will build it, cos everyone seems to say that it's cheaper and you get exactly what you want. To help me do this, I was hoping that some people would be able to give me some tips as to what components would be good for me, or even just some general guidelines about what brands are good/****e.

So, what will I use it for? Well, I'll use it for quite a variety of things: music storage/editting/playing, video storage/editting/playing, games (although this is negligible considering my most complex game is Harry Potter :D ), Uni work including most Microsoft Office products, web development, using Adobe Premier package CS4 and of course internet browsing. My general aim is to have quite a powerful machine that can handle quite a few programs open at once (for instance Photoshop, with the internet open and a DVD playing in the background) without freezing. Also, I would love for it to have dual digital TV tuners, so that I can watch one program whilst recording another. I'd also love to have a BluRay player in it because I'm beginning to build up my collection and I would like to play them on my comp as well. Finally, it would be great to have a media card reader.

I have no company allegiances, I don't plan to overclock, and I can figure out monitor, mouse, and keyboard another time. My budget is $1000 - 2000, and I'm hoping not to need to upgrade for a while, or at least have a computer that is easily upgradable. Soooo, any suggestions? This seems to be a good starting point to me; does it seem reasonable for my needs?

Thanks for any help you can give :)

with your budget, an i7 build would be better and will last you longer. right now, this build comes out to $1,179.