Need help: Upgrading an Imedia Computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

bengjo

Baseband Member
Hey - I know the post is long, but I am in serious need of help and would very much appreciate some! :)

First of, let me say I have little to no knowledge on computer hardware.

So I figured I wanted to improve the quality I play my games on, and in order to do that, I need a better graphic card.

---
My computer: Packard Bell imedia S3810

Specs:
Prosessor: Intel Core i3 CPU 530 @ 2.93GHz
RAM: 6,00 GB
Graphic Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT320
---

Now, imedias are pretty tiny and they don't got a lot of room for good graphic cards. So in order to change the old graphic card, I need bigger space - a new computer case.

As stated before, I don't have a lot of knowledge on the matter and so I am in very much need of help.

What kind of cases can I put the hardware from my imedia into? I'm talking about taking out everything inside it, and putting it into a new, bigger case.

I have never done this before, and I've heard some talk about the "motherboard" having to fit etc. And also that I need a fitting PSU for the new graphic card.

How do I know all this? Any suggestions to which cases I can get?

The graphic card I just bought (that didn't, of course, fit into my little imedia) is a AMD Radeon HD 8650, costing roughly 250 USD. My budget goes up to around 280 USD.

I just need some help, and it is very much appreciated!!

- Benjamin

You will need a case, graphics card, and power supply. The motherboard should be a microATX but I can't find diddly about it on the web (par for Packard Bell, actually).

Look here for a list of what brands of PSus to look for and which to avoid... and FOLLOW IT. Trust me on that. You want a PSU with 50-100W more than the graphcs card you choose lists as a minimum.