need help upgrading!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 07:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

another thing is that i noticed that, trotter, is that we both have the nvidia geforce 4000 mx, dont you think that it is a good card? how come you recommended a different card?
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 9300
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHZ
1GB RAM
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon x300
80GB Hard drive
tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

well geforce mx4000 is definately not a good card for today's gaming

at least get a 6600GT for today's games.
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 01:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

I have no problems with it, but I am not a gamer. My 3D needs are fairly low. I do have some games that use it, but not like FPS's and such.

With the comp you have, major games like Battlefield 2, F.E.A.R., and such would be beyond its capabilities except for the bare minimum settings.

I have played Half Life 2 on my comp (including my graphics card), and it played well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 12-20-2005, 03:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

can i ask on what settings?
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 04:17 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would get the FX-5200 instead of the Radeon 9250. the Radeon 9000 series cards did perform better for the most part, except for the 9200 and 9250. they are really crippled.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 11:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

i am about to get a fairly old system that is a compaq and not quite sure if its components will be compatible with my dell, just wanna know if you guys think that ram, harddrive etc will be compatible?
__________________

tariqadkhan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.