need help upgrading!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2005, 11:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default need help upgrading!!

i have had a dell dimension 4100 for about 5 or more years.

systen specs :
win 98
cd-burner
intel p3 9330mhz
128mb ram
17inch monitor
scanner printer
16mb ati rage pro graphics card

upgraded to:
384mb ram
128mb nvidia geforce 4000 mx

i want to know what are the best upgrades possible for this system, an what i can do to amke it top of the line without having to buy a new pc, already have a great laptop, so just want to upgrade the desktop to play good (high quality and most recent games). so plz help!!!

thanks.
__________________

tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

tell us what your motherboard is.
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

P3 CPU, max of 1.1GHz.
AGP x4
Five PCI slots
PC133 RAM, max of 512MB
2 5.25" bays
3 3.5" bays
2 internal bays for hard drives
200W PSU

Not a lot to work with.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

If you really don't want to start fresh, I'd say your best bet is to add as much RAM as it supports. That won't make it top of the line, nothing will really. You can't expect a 5 year old computer to act like new. But I think adding some RAM is probably the best thing you can do to help the performance.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 03:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

my advice is to build a new pc and get a mobo that has pci-e slots if you are into gaming

a decent gaming pc is around 570 USD
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shannon
If you really don't want to start fresh, I'd say your best bet is to add as much RAM as it supports.
not for win98. win98 is limited to 2gb ram but it's bad at handling too much ram. 192mb is preffered (stable and it's at its bestest performance) 256mb is ok too but anything higher than that might be either good or bad. exept for applications that requires huge amounts of ram such as photoshop
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

i have win xp now and the mobo can only support 512mb ram another system spec is 40gb of harddrive. how much of an influence does the hardrive have on the performance of the pc?
__________________
Dell Inspiron 9300
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHZ
1GB RAM
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon x300
80GB Hard drive
tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

just depends on what kind of hard drive u have. SATA will gives the best performance cuz it's the new generation of hard drives
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 12:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

The drive would be ATA.

40 gig can be a pretty tight squeeze at times. I know, as that is what I have.

If you plan on keeping your system, here's the main things you ought to look into...

Buy two sticks of 256MB RAM. NewEgg has pqi 256MB 168-Pin SDRAM Unbuffered PC 133 System Memory... two for $70.50 , including shipping.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141205

Get an additional hard drive, either to add storage space, or to replace the one you have now. NewEgg has the Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JB 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive for $55.99, including shipping.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144122

Go for a better graphics card. NewEgg has the VisionTek VTK 9250128A Radeon 9250 128MB DDR AGP 2X/4X Video Card for $60.99 including shipping, and it has a $10 mail-in rebate right now.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814129045

All that comes up to $187.48. It would give you a system with a 1.1GHz CPU, 512MB RAM, 120 GIG hard drive space, and a 128MB Radeon 9250 graphics card.

While that may not be top-notch, it is cheaper than buying a new one. Of course, it won't be able to do what a new one can do, either. Best thing is do it as you can afford it. Be sure to get the RAM first, as it will make the biggest difference.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

thanx alot that last msg will definetly help me, make the pc as best as possible, its the detailed response that i needed, thanks alot
__________________

tariqadkhan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.