Need help with upgrade graphics card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2005, 06:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Just ordered a Sapphire ATI 9800 Pro, 128mb 4x/8x agp card from newegg. The 6600 GT was sold out everywhere, in the 4x/8x model, and all that was left was the 8x card.

Hopefully it will work, will find out next week.

Thanks for the input and help!
__________________

Scoot is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 07:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

You could have, in turn, got a 5500 or a 6800 instead, you know. The 9800 is alright, I suppose.
__________________

__________________
My reply to all you show-offs out there:

AMD Duron@800mhz
FUJITSU 4gig
Maxtor 20gig
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 PCI@275
256mb PC133 SDRAM@100 3-3-3-6 /x2
Shuttle AK12A@100
Hansol 17\" CRT 710D Monitor
VIA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Windows XP Professional
HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500
LG CD-RW CED-8120B

:D
Chernabog is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 01:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

9800pro is a good card, enjoy.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 04:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Okies, well I am back!

I just received the card via ups, and have a few more ?'s I should have asked before I bought the thing.

Just cracked the case and started diggin' (I am a NON techy btw) and it appears my pwer supply is only 250W max.

Since I know nothing about putting in a new video card, and the one currently in has no fan, I am a bit lost on where to connect the fan.

The package came without the owner manual

There appears to be a 3 prong on the mobo for an extra fan. Figure this is where I connect the fan, right?

Next, I notice that in the slot under my current video card, is my network card in the first pci slot. Will that need to be moved? There is an open slot at the bottom.

garsh, so many ?'s, with so few brain cells to work with!

On the up side, I am learning more and more, and might be able to build one next year at this rate!

thanks
Scoot is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 04:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Erm, your 9800 Pro should (from what I remember about my own 9800 Pro) have a 4-pin molex connector. Basically it's the same connection to your hard drive, cd rom, yada yada. The plug should come from your power supply, so just find a spare one and shove it in, although 250W is quite low.

Edit:

Oh sorry wait you meant the fan, my bad.

There should be a socket on the graphics card for that.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

thanks. I am tryin to do this without destroying my PC, as it is the only one I have atm.

Will give it a go, and hope for the best!
Scoot is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 06:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Good luck.
__________________
My reply to all you show-offs out there:

AMD Duron@800mhz
FUJITSU 4gig
Maxtor 20gig
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 PCI@275
256mb PC133 SDRAM@100 3-3-3-6 /x2
Shuttle AK12A@100
Hansol 17\" CRT 710D Monitor
VIA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Windows XP Professional
HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500
LG CD-RW CED-8120B

:D
Chernabog is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 08:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

One more question, if I may?

If I were to put in a new power supply, what would I need to consider?

It is a 20 pin, at least that is what I counted when I took it out to look visually. Will any 20 pin PS work? Or, is there a power restriction I need to consider with my mobo? If I upgrade to 450W PS or so, will it be okay with my components and mobo?

Assuming that those things only take what they need, but wanted to make sure before I fry something

edit: Also, the 9800pro is installed as of now, and no probs thus far......will test it out on a game later. Not sure how I find out the temp it's running at though. Might put in a slot fan in the back of my PC, to help, later.
__________________

Scoot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.