Need help turning my Compaq into a decent gaming pc. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2011, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default Need help turning my Compaq into a decent gaming pc.

i'm not extremely knowledgeable about pc's but i do know a little. i have about $300-$400 to spend would love it if i could spend less of course.

i have a Compaq Presario CQ5600F
AMD Athion II 170u processor
2gb ram 500gb hd
nvidia Geforce 6150se nforce 430


want to be able to play Skyrim BF3 Crysis2 and so on with no problems. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

whodat09 is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need help turning my Compaq into a decent gaming pc.

You won't play Crysis2 on that system by a long shot.

Specifications: Compaq Presario CQ5600F Desktop PC Product Specifications Compaq Presario CQ5600F Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

I am not sure, but I don't think anything is worth upgrading. IMO, getting an entire new system will be better. No doubt you can move over parts from your older system that we can keep the prices down.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Yeah there's not much you can do to bump that up to play those games. Save some money and buy/build a new system
Shaynk is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 05:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: Need help turning my Compaq into a decent gaming pc.

I had the AMD II 250 x2 before. It caused huge bottlenecks for battlefield 3, as soon as i changed that to a Phenom II X4 965BE was the full potential of BF3 released. I also however have a Geforce GTX 560, which is more than capable at playing new games. Seems like you are also running on a AGP system. They dont make graphic cards powerful enough to play BF3 or skyrim decently.
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Build (Parts include decent gaming material and going to be used 1/2 gaming 1/2daily use[ceck email, etc]) T_Yamamoto New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-12-2011 04:18 PM
Need a decent gaming pc A1111 PC Gaming 9 07-08-2010 08:16 PM
Turning notebook into gaming machine? HELP Sgt Wild Lion Laptops and Notebooks 2 10-02-2008 09:03 PM
What you think? turning this pre built to a Gaming rig tkim113 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-26-2008 07:16 PM
New to gaming, is this pc decent? ritzer PC Gaming 7 12-20-2005 11:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.