Need Help With Sempron's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2006, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default Need Help With Sempron's

Hey,
My Dad is looking to replace the aging family computer, which is used for gaming and office work. We've pretty narrowed down to a Compaq with an AMD Sempron Processor. Here's the specs.

Features:
2.0GHz AMD Sempron 3500+ (1600 MT/s (mega transfers/second))
512MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (2 x 256MB); expandable to 4.0GB
160GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
16X DVD+/-R/RW Double Layer (+/-R) LightScribe drive
Integrated Video Graphics with up to 128MB of allocated video memory
PCI K56flex data/fax modem
Integrated 10/100 Base-T networking interface
Media Card Reader: Compact Flash I/II; SmartMedia; Memory Stick; Memory Stick Pro; MultiMediaCard; Secure Digital (SD); Micro Drive; xD Picture Card
Ports: 7 USB 2.0 (3 front, 4 back); 2 IEEE 1394 (1 front, 1 back); 1 VGA; 1 Parallel; 2 PS/2; 1 LAN; Front headphone, line-in, microphone; Back line-in, line-out, microphone
Available Slots: 2 PCI (3 total); 1 PCI Express x16; 2 DIMM (4 total)
Compaq home professional keyboard and PS/2 scroller mouse included
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 2
Software Included: WinDVD 5 Player Basic; Sonic DigitalMedia Plus 7.04; Sonic MyDVD Plus 6.2; HP Image Zone 5; Adobe Reader; Microsoft Works 8.0; Microsoft Office 2003 Student Teacher Edition (Trial Version); Norton Internet Security 2005 AntiSpyware Edition (60-day security update subscription); and more


Now, here's my questions and concerns. While reading, I found that the Sempron 2800+, which has a 2.0 ghz processor, is aimed to compete with Intel's 2.8 ghz processor. Basically everywheres I read, the Sempron blew the Intel away. So, basically my question is, how good is this 3500+ when it only has a 2.0 ghz too? What will it compete with?

Since like I said before, I want to use this for gaming, what games will I be able to run, and which not? I'd like to see it run games such as Medal of Honor, Call of Duty, and Battlefield Vietnam. Can anyone add some insite to what I wil and will not be able to do? One of my main concerns is the 2.0 ghz processor. Just how competiitive is it?

Anyways, I apprieciate you reading all of this, and thanks for any help!
__________________

ballisticpball is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 01:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

iits not only the clock speed (in GHZ) that determines the CPU power, its as well the cache, so 2.0GHZ running speed might be compared to 3500MHz Intel as that sempron version must be with higher level of cache (say 1MB). the other thing AMD's are faster because of RISC (Reduced Instruction Set Computing) based computing rather than CISC (CompleX Instruction Set Computing - that intels use). in laymans, RISC is like if math processor has to multiply 6 X 3 = 18, then RISC will manage it by 6 + 6 + 6 = 18, while CISC (on Intels) will manahge it by 6 X 3 = 18. so mkaes the other operators in maths, intels have made it complex, whilst AMD kept it simple. thats y faster processor (this is base story). if anyone has to add to it something, then Please do so. I am open to additions.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah basically for the same reason the 2800+ at 2.0ghz can blow away a 2.8ghz p4 the 3500+ is better than the 2800+ at 2.0ghz as well. AMD improved the architecture of the processor so despite being at the same clock speed as the 2800+ it performs better. if you want to play games you will be needing a graphics card as integrated graphics (which will steal up to 128mb of your 512mb of ram) will choke on games.

as for your concerns about the 2.0ghz processor, trust me it is not a problem. my processor is 2.4ghz (overclocked though, originally it was 2.0ghz as well) and is equivelant to 2x3.8ghz pentium 4's on one chip. at its original speed of 2.0ghz it is equivelant to 2x3.2ghz pentium 4's on one chip. basically my point here is how little the performance relies on the clock speed.

p.s. are you sure you don't mean 3300+ because i didn't know there was a 3500+ sempron
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you're going to use that for gaming, the integrated graphics card may not help you very much depending on what level of gaming you will be doing
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 11:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks for the help guys.

Since this is a pretty low-end computer, many places sell it like:

Staples Business Depot

http://www.staples.ca/ENG/Catalog/ca...AffixedCode=WW

Wal-Mart

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=4597542

And Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...lance&n=541966


Nitestick, I'm pretty sure it's an AMD 3500+ Sempron lol, since all these sites list it.

Now, my next questions are, what is the STOCK equvilent of this system, to an Intel? Since all specifications I have ever seen only really say what kind of Intel processer you need, what can I do with this?

Here are some links to games I'm wondering if I can play or not. I want to play these games at MAX performance. None of that pixelated jittery stuff. If you scroll down and have a look, it shows the system requirements for the game.

Medal of Honor: Allied Assault
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Produ.../mhonorallied/ (Pretty sure I can easily run this)

Medal of Honor: Pacific Assault
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Produ...honor_pacific/
(this requires all 512mb of RAM for min. not good?)

Call of Duty
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Products/PC/call_duty/

Call of Duty: United Offense
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Produ...f_duty_united/

Call of Duty 2:
http://www.neoseeker.com/forums/inde...hread&t=612126

Need For Speed Underground 2:
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Produ...underground_2/

Prince of Persia: Sands of Time
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Produ...epersia_sands/

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Produ...e_of_persia_2/

Prince of Persia: Two Thrones
http://www.neoseeker.com/Games/Produ...e_of_persia_3/

And I don't have the specs for GUN, but does anyone know if it this computer will run it?

Thanks a lot guys for the help, I know this is A LOT to read over, lol, but I appreciate your help.
ballisticpball is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Here are some links to games I'm wondering if I can play or not. I want to play these games at MAX performance. None of that pixelated jittery stuff. If you scroll down and have a look, it shows the system requirements for the game.
Good luck with that; your video card seriously compromises your system, game wise. You'll be lucky to get no jitter on Medium with that card...
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Well, it wil obviosuly need to be remeded then. What do you suggest? I don't need anything too great, just enough. I don't want to spend a lot of money either. I'm just looking to upgrade what needs to be upgraded.
ballisticpball is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Wow, that IS a lowend computer.

For starters, you're gonna need a new video card. Something like this should do. You're probably going to need more RAM to make the games run more smoothly, also. After all these upgrades, you're probably going to need a new powersupply unit also, and since Compaq tends to make their own, that will cost a pretty penny to replace.

Ever thought of building?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Nope. Too much of a hassle, and I don't know enough. Out of that list of games, which ones could I run smoothly? Any insight into my question about Intel/AMD comparisons?
ballisticpball is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I THINK the Sempron numbering system (2800+, 3000+, etc) is compared to the Pentium 4 family, but I really don't know.

As for which of those games could run smoothly under max out of that list? Probably none, with those specs.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.