need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2011, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

Hello guys i been running with this setup for a while and is been working so far but new games are coming and i like to be able to run them smoothly.
According to requirements lab my cpu sucks a lot is the only thing that doesn't pass.
i can run crysis 2 on high 1400x900 , dragon age 2 on high 1080p and also fable 3 high 1080p but it does lag in certain areas.
my friend told me i might need an upgrade for it and also the witcher 2.
I figure ill do that now that i can afford it this is my spec.
Case Antec it fits both micro and full size mobo
Mobo AMD MCP6P M2+
Cpu AMD Athlon X2 5400 Dual Core Proccesor
Ram 4GB DDR2
Harddrive 500GB Harddrive
GPU Nvidia GTs 250 1GB DDR3
Power Supply 400w corsair
If i have to change cpu, mobo and ram thats fine i like to keep it under 400.
500 if is worth it and of course ill be reusing everything else.
well let me know what you guys think and if its worth upgrading
thanks in advance
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Old 05-24-2011, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

Here the CPU compatibility list for your board. Looks like you can use up to a Phenom II X4 955 in it (with a BIOS update, most likely).
BIOSTAR :: MCP6P M2+ :: CPU Support

If you want to do an overhaul, check this out:

1x AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX
1x XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card


Newegg.com - Foxconn A88GM Deluxe AM3 AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10600CL9D-4GBPK

Comes out to $342 w/$5 shipping and a $30 MIR

Or if you want to go with Sandy Bridge:

1x Intel Core i5-2400 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz (3.4GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52400
1x ASRock Z68 PRO3-M LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard


Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

Newegg.com - XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

$467 w/$12.56 shipping and a $30 MIR
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-24-2011, 01:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

wow that's better than i expected that would be a really nice upgrade will i have power issues my power supply is only 400w. im thinking of going for the first overhaul if you think ill run everything just fine for at least 6 month +
342 is really cheap i like it
Drogos is offline  
Old 05-24-2011, 09:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

It will run whatever you throw at it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-24-2011, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

sweet then im set thanks alot man
Drogos is offline  
Old 05-27-2011, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

This is the update my parts got in today and got everything hooked and running.
thanks a lot trotter im happy to say that win7 gives my new parts a 7.4 the lowest is my Harddrive 5.9 i should update that to in a month or so unless is not really needed.
the corsair 400w power supply is holding nicely
AMD Phenom II X4 3.2
Foxconn A88GM Deluxe AM3
G.SKILL 4GB
Corsair 400w
500GB HD
Radeon HD 5770

thanks again
Drogos is offline  
Old 05-27-2011, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

Glad to hear all is well. Enjoy.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-27-2011, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

Trotter is the Man

While the Corsair 400w is a great power supply I'm sure your new system is straining it harder than it ever has. I would go ahead and upgrade it before the hard drive.

This Corsair is only $75 after a rebate.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply

This Antec is only $70 after a rebate
Newegg.com - Antec High Current Gamer Series HCG-620 620W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V v2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

This OCZ is only $50 after a rebate, but it does look like a few of them have died early. But OCZ does have a pretty good support team.
Newegg.com - OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom

As far as the Win7 rating, it's really a generic rating and I wouldn't let it influence my decision making. With that said, if you want a big boost in your Windows load times you'll want a SSD, Solid State Drive. They help your load times with games and apps also, but it's not as noticeable. They are fairly expensive so you would want to buy a drive big enough for Windows and your main applications and a few games. Then you use your old drive for data, temp files, page file, etc... OCZ is pretty much the biggest player in SSD. They generally have the best price to performance but you never know what might be on sale at the time.

This is a 1st generation drive but it's really only big enough for your OS and the bare minimum of apps. I have this exact same drive with WinXPx64, Autocad, Photoshop, MS Office and a few other smaller programs and it's almost full. But it's priced right for a starter drive.
Newegg.com - OCZ Vertex Series OCZSSD2-1VTX30GXXX 2.5" 30GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

This 60GB drive is $95, I also have one of these, I'm running Win7 on it as I type. It hold Win7 all my programs and 5 or 6 games, this would be my recommendation.
Newegg.com - OCZ Agility 2 OCZSSD2-2AGTE60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: need help replacing my cpu and maybe mobo

sweet ill definitely add that to the list. might as well
ill stick to corsair i will buy it a month or so.
i been running all the games at 1080p with no problem so far im loving it lol.
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Mobo? dennykyser New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-02-2008 12:59 PM
Replacing my mobo sayaprayer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-09-2007 09:00 PM
replacing cpu mobo what do you think of my choices jblewis New Systems | Building and Buying 0 07-24-2006 01:44 AM
replacing mobo/graphics nigy System Upgrades 18 08-29-2005 11:04 PM
Replacing a mobo--is a reformat in order? Vormund Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 03-17-2005 02:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.