Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2011, 07:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560

I got the evga 560 one you are talking about. Overclocked it to 925mhz, no problems, simply a very good and cost efficient car which will run battlefield 3 smoothly. Got max settings, reso at 1920x1080 but aa at 0. Still very good. Paid 190€.
__________________

__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 07:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default Re: Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560

And had a radeon 5770 before. Video quality is better but for games nvidia is simply my choice....we go way back to the geforce 2gts and 6600Gt, and 8600gt on my macbook pro. Amaing cards. Ati doesnt give you that feeling. Hated my macs ati 9600pro.
__________________

__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 01:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
What kind of quad core cpu do you have? That factors into your system performance as well. What mobo and PSU do you have? And there is a difference between the regular 560 and the ti edition. The ti preforms much better. You'll want the 560ti for BF3. But that card will NOT max out BF3, no way no how. What is your monitor resolution?
Yes it does. I play on Ultra at 1680x1050. Averages 45 fps accoring to fraps, dips to 30ish at the most demanding parts.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 10-31-2011, 01:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
Yes it does. I play on Ultra at 1680x1050. Averages 45 fps accoring to fraps, dips to 30ish at the most demanding parts.
Could you please post what settings you have exactly, and how high they are? Also, what drivers are you on?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 01:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Could you please post what settings you have exactly, and how high they are? Also, what drivers are you on?
On the latest drivers (285.62), all settings as high as they go for the FPS I posted. Only in campaign is it playable with MSAAx4 on. For whatever reason in multiplayer it plays fine with it on for about 2 minutes, then starts freezing for 1-2 seconds at a time when turning. With MSAA set to x0 the fps average jumps up to around 60 from what I can tell, though I haven't actually recorded a run like that on FRAPS, so I could be off on that.

Happened across a benchmark showing what the 560Ti can do on Ultra:
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,8...ested/Reviews/
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 05:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
On the latest drivers (285.62), all settings as high as they go for the FPS I posted. Only in campaign is it playable with MSAAx4 on. For whatever reason in multiplayer it plays fine with it on for about 2 minutes, then starts freezing for 1-2 seconds at a time when turning.
I've noticed that too, actually (I'm on a 560 Ti, on Ultra except for Shadows on medium, latest drivers). Though I'm at 1080p.

Quote:
Happened across a benchmark showing what the 560Ti can do on Ultra:
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,8...ested/Reviews/
Thanks.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 04:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Need help picking out a video card, looking at GeForce 560

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twizted_3kgt View Post
Yes it does. I play on Ultra at 1680x1050. Averages 45 fps accoring to fraps, dips to 30ish at the most demanding parts.
When I said "max out" I meant on high resolutions :P
__________________

tj_extreme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card trouble, NVIDIA GeForce 9600GSO, no video output. need guidance/suggestions to fix.? stolenfat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-29-2011 11:59 PM
Need help picking video card Diskidgotsol3 System Upgrades 6 02-10-2010 10:44 PM
Need help picking video card freenet New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-07-2006 09:35 PM
help picking out a video card chevytrucknut New Systems | Building and Buying 10 11-25-2005 10:28 PM
help picking a pci-express video card bokmunn Overclocking and Modding 14 07-31-2005 11:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.