Need help once again - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2006, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 75
Default Need help once again

Hey its me again I can't find my old topic so here it goes.


I got a computer COMPAQ Presario

AMD sempron 3100
RAEDEON ATI xpress GFX
1gig ram
120HD


Its a good computer I was on google just messing around and I went to the xpress site (GFX card site) it says that my PC should have 1 PCIE x16 slot How do I check if it does or not?
__________________

__________________
Would you like a nice hot cup of STFU
Lonewolf2006 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

The two easiest way's I can think of are:

1) This is the easiest. Google Everest Home Edition. Go down to the third link (Major Geeks), click one of the download locations and download that. Launch the program after installing and go to the pic labeled motherboard. On the next list click motherboard again. Scroll down to Motherboard physical info and look in expansion slots. It will tell you there.

2) Open the PC up. Where the PCI slots are in the bottom left corner, provided you have PCI-E, there will be one slot that looks slightly longer than the rest and it will have a little tabby looking thing at the end. If you look on a PCI-E card there's a little L shaped peice at the bottom right of the card, that's where that goes. Hope this helps.

Also, I believe your mobo does have PCI-E but you may wanna check just to be safe.

Here's a pic to help. I think this is your mobo.
__________________

X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

lonewolf, ur computer has 1 pci-e, 2 pci, and 1 agp. ur radeon express is intergrated. i have a compaq presario my self but i went for a better procesor and 160gb and 1gig ram and ditched the higher end intergrated graphics.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 75
Default

Ouch. I didn't go for the higher processor since Ram Makes your computer runs faster anyways if I have 4 slots might as well get 4 Gigs of ram lol
__________________
Would you like a nice hot cup of STFU
Lonewolf2006 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

yea. thats true. but i figured 1gig would be enough and i was wrong. also windows xp will not use all those 4gig of ram. windows xp only accepts 3gig i believe, anymore and ull get problems.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.