Need help on my 5 Monitor setup, - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2010, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

Here are my computer Specs

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
Asus Motherboard, (to lazy to open up)
4 gigs of ram
2 1tb hardrives, (don't thing it matters)
2 5770 on crossfire,

I have the five monitors, but I have not been able to get a straight answer on how to setup,
I also want to know if I will be able to game on the whole setup ones configured, I heard Eyefinity should take care of the gamming part on multiple monitors,

Well heres the question I have 5 Monitors and 5 DVI cables, Today I went in search of a DP to DVI converter but couldn't find any, so Is there another way to accomplish this withouth the DP and still be able to game, I mean both graphic cards have hdmi aswell couldn't I hook up the fifth one to it, Also I want to game on this so yeah, Thanks in advance.
__________________

tecklym is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,026
Default Re: Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

I thought EyeFinity wasn't enabled on multi-card setups?
__________________

__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is online now  
Old 06-08-2010, 04:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

Let me check on that real quick
tecklym is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 09:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

when the 5xxx series cards were first released there was no support for crossfire + eyefinity (aside from the 5970), but they've since released driver updates so crossfire + eyefinity does work now.

if you're going to setup 5 monitors, i think you're going to need atleast 1 active displayport adapter because only 3 monitors max are supported per card, so you would be hooking up 3 monitors to the 1st card and 2 monitors to the 2nd card.

and even if your card(s) have more than 3 video outputs each, like if they have 2 dvi's, 1 hdmi and 1 dp, you can only use 3 monitors max per card and in any way you set em up, one of them HAS to be hooked up to the displayport connection.

with 1 hooked up to dp, the other 2 monitors can be hooked up to either both dvi's or 1 to dvi and 1 to hdmi.

you can't do 2 monitors to both dvi's and 1 to hdmi, that won't work. like i said, in a 3 monitor setup (per 1 card) one has to be hooked up to dp. if your monitors don't have a dp connection, then you'll be needing an active displayport adapter like this one.
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...9&sku=330-5521

so i guess hypothetically now, you would have 3 monitors hooked up and 2 remaining. the other 2 monitors i think you will be able to hook up straight to both dvi's on the second card.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

There is that 6 output ATI card, Sean W was asking about. That 1 card would do all 5.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 10:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

yea there's the 5870 6 edition, and i think xfx and sapphire are coming outwith 5970 6 editions too later on. and there that 5770 5 edition, idk if that will be coming out any time soon, and theres also the 5970 "12" edition with 12 mini-dp ports.

but i think he already has the 2 5770's though; he can still make it work with a setup like that.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post

but i think he already has the 2 5770's though; he can still make it work with a setup like that.
Oops, i think you are correct.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 05:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need help on my 5 Monitor setup,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
when the 5xxx series cards were first released there was no support for crossfire + eyefinity (aside from the 5970), but they've since released driver updates so crossfire + eyefinity does work now.

if you're going to setup 5 monitors, i think you're going to need atleast 1 active displayport adapter because only 3 monitors max are supported per card, so you would be hooking up 3 monitors to the 1st card and 2 monitors to the 2nd card.

and even if your card(s) have more than 3 video outputs each, like if they have 2 dvi's, 1 hdmi and 1 dp, you can only use 3 monitors max per card and in any way you set em up, one of them HAS to be hooked up to the displayport connection.

with 1 hooked up to dp, the other 2 monitors can be hooked up to either both dvi's or 1 to dvi and 1 to hdmi.

you can't do 2 monitors to both dvi's and 1 to hdmi, that won't work. like i said, in a 3 monitor setup (per 1 card) one has to be hooked up to dp. if your monitors don't have a dp connection, then you'll be needing an active displayport adapter like this one.
DELL DisplayPort to Dual Link DVI Adapter for OptiPlex / Latitude / Alienware Laptops / Precision/ Precision Mobile Workstations : Desktop Accessories | Dell

so i guess hypothetically now, you would have 3 monitors hooked up and 2 remaining. the other 2 monitors i think you will be able to hook up straight to both dvi's on the second card.

I see exactly what I suspected, but will any Displayport to DVI work or does it have to be the one you linked, Because I was going to go purchase this one but know you got me thinking,
__________________

tecklym is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.