Need Help on knew CPU! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2013, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 13
Default Need Help on knew CPU!

Hey Guys

I'm looking at upgrading my Processor form a Intel Pentium G630 2.7ghz to an Intel Sandybridge i5-2500K Unlocked Core i5 Quad-Core Processor (3.30GHz, 6MB Cache, Socket 1155). At the moment i believe my Motherboard is an FCLGA 1155 and i was wondering if the i5 will fit in this motherboard.

Thank you for your help

Sammystapler
__________________

sammystapler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

Should work just fine but wait for some of the better Poster's around here to confirm
__________________

__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

Thank you for you Quick reply
sammystapler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

What's your motherboard model?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

I'm fairly knew to computers so dont know all the in's and out's but my motherboard is manufactured by Lenovo.

Hopefully this will help.

bbd7c1466636eb68d4676c55be29fabb.png

7a8c5df27905059d0aa64dd946f55204.png

They are pictures from CPU-Z
sammystapler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

Not quite sure (im knew to computers)

hope this helps:

4a0e4245fb75088ccbb62f5e764ae289.png

4a0e4245fb75088ccbb62f5e764ae289.png
sammystapler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

Yea it should work with a bios update. What's the purpose of the upgrade? Gaming?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

Well the biggest problem when you do a CPU upgrade on a Laptop is heat.

Lenovo and almost all laptop manufactures, design the heatsink so it can dissipate a set amount of heat. Your laptop will be made to cool a 65W Dual core, which is already a hard job for a laptop but adding Another Two cores and 30 Watts of heat might be pushing it!

What is the Exact model number for the laptop. Im not saying its not possible because it more then likely is, but its a good idea to look into seeing if it will be able to handle it.
__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

His current CPU is a desktop CPU so I'm fairly certain it's a desktop machine, as is his chipset.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Need Help on knew CPU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
His current CPU is a desktop CPU so I'm fairly certain it's a desktop machine, as is his chipset.
i was wondering why someone wanted to put a Sandybridge i5-2500K in a laptop but my brain was just having a moment of stupidity! :P

**digs a hole and sticks head it it**

I'm just always thinking of Lenovo and the IMB Thinkpads! haha

Though the same still applies, just make sure you get the heat sink for the i5 when you order it too!
__________________

__________________
TOSHIBA Qosmio Lappy - i7 4700MQ 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - GTX770 - 2X 500gb 7200rpm hard drives + 120GB Corsair ssd

Im obsessed with my Samsung(s) My Galaxy S4 and my Tab 3 8.0
Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.