Need help...just bough new PC and want to make it a gaming pc. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 03:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Default Need help...just bough new PC and want to make it a gaming pc.

I just bought a Brand New Dell. I Bought it from a local shop and they had it sitting in the box for while and he sold it to me for 150 bucks because he is a pal of mine.

The computer is a Dell Optiplex GX150. It had INtel Pentium III 996 MHz, 256 MB of Ram. Its completly stock cept the guy threw a cd burner and XP on it. I want to make it a good gaming PC. Im not rich...but i do get about 300 bucks every two weeks(still in high school). SO...what shouldi do...Im aiming to go for a pentium 4...and a badass videocard.

I am a newb at computer stuff so sorry...any help would be perfect . THANKS.
__________________

r_c_inicial is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 03:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

i wouldn't worry about the sound card i woudl worry about a video card atleast a Gefoce 6800GT would do the job good

Amd is better for gameing altho intel is nice for photoshop and other office stuff and its good for multi tasking. If you want to upgrade the intel you probably well need a new motherboard and i would get atelast a intel p4 630 3.0ghz which isn't to bad however yo uwell need to buy a new heatsink fan for it.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 03:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Default

whoops..i ment VIDEO...sorry...um.just edited it. Anways...will that fit right into my pc?
r_c_inicial is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 01:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

1st off if you buy a P4 it will not fit in that dell because that P3 chip is a socket 370 and a P4 is a socket 478. Now you need another motherboard. P4 uses DDR not SDRAM therefore you will need new RAM. Dell uses propietary parts and odds are that motherboard will not fit in that case, so you will need a new case. Now that we got that down, that power supply in the dell case will not fit into the new case so you need a power suppy. Get me? The cd-rom, floppy, and the hard drive can be reused though.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 02:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

hahahahaha shawn has a point there ->. also if you get a new mobo be sure to get one with PCI-E slots on it, AGP is outdated and PCI-E is twice as fast...
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 03:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GuitarFreak1857
PCI-E is twice as fast...
Its bus speed is, but we have not even utilized the full bandwidth capabilities of AGP yet. Unfortunatly we need to move wherever the vendors take us . I dont feel that AGP should be outdated yet but what can we do?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

bascailly that computer is trash, just reuse the floppy drives, maybe hdds, cd drives, etc etf
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Default

hm....so should i trash it????
r_c_inicial is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^or use it to go online, word processing, downloading music etc....or give it to someone who will use it like that.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Default

um...so. NOw that there is no chance to do anything with it...what do i do. Any good things to start with???I just want to be able to play games like aoe(3) and not having to play like if i was chopping onions. Umm..any suggestions please.
__________________

r_c_inicial is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.