Need help Installing an SSD properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2012, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default Need help Installing an SSD properly

right, i have either an MSI G-series GT780DX or an ASUS g74sx-nh71

now, both have two hard-drive spaces, and i want to install a kingston hyperX 2k 240gb SSD into one. The plan is to use the SSD for processing and the HDD as storage space

what is the proper way to do this? there is data migrating software in the box, but i have heard that a fresh install is better.
If i am going to migrate data, can i simply migrate the data, then slot in the HDD and have them work together? or are more steps required

If i am going to do a fresh install, do i create a backup using my current HDD to do it? or is a Windows 7 installation disk required?
When i fresh install, should both drives be in the computer?

quite unsure, perhaps it'd be better if someone could just outline the steps ><
__________________

stillenacht is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

Easiest way to do this is to backup to an external drive, if available. If not, just leave data on your "storage drive". Just manually do it.

Take all drives off but the SSD. So you won't get them mixed up. Load Windows 7 on it. After restart, reconnect the other drive(s), and reformat them if need be, otherwise just use them as is.

That help? It's the safest way.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

^That won't work properly.

You will need to swap drives in their bays before you goto the ssd.

The best way to do this is with acronis, and follow the right simple istructions. I used a youtube video.
Backup software and disaster recovery solutions for both Windows and Linux servers

I just did this on my acer 8930, and everything was buggered till i swapped drives
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

My example was from a full install, not copying drives, patonb.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

so do i need a windows 7 64 disk or can i create a backup using existing files, then use it to "restore" the ssd?
stillenacht is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

Watch payton's Youtube vid.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
My example was from a full install, not copying drives, patonb.
You still need to swap drives from what i've read.. The primary drive has to be in disk 0.

OP..

You only need the backup software to make a img, and their boot usb to put it on the ssd.

I swapped my os from my hdd to my ssd, and kept my restore partiton on the hdd, just like factory setup, doing it that way.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

If you unplug everything besides the SSD to install then doesn't matter where it is located on the board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

On laptops you can't just unplug remember, and hes got, like mine, dual hd bays. The common sense thing is just drop the ssd into the empty bay and go.
But you need to swap the two..
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 03:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need help Installing an SSD properly

What do you mean, patonb? I've always known to just put it in place of the existing HDD.

When you install Windows, you normally want to only have the SSD in to not be confused of the other drive. Or if Windows detects it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop does not power off after installing SSD axel4axel Microsoft Windows and Software 11 01-23-2012 04:53 PM
Installing an SSD - Help please? bengjo System Upgrades 11 11-28-2011 06:10 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
FPS problems after installing SSD memory Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 01-24-2011 08:48 PM
sound not working properly after installing Vid card rebintaloic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-10-2009 05:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.