need help installing room - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default need help installing room

I just bought a 256MB SDRam stick(My PC is old but, I still use it.) but, my bios wont recognize it. In the bios, it reads Memory Bank 0- 128MB SDR, Memory Bank 1- Not intalled even though both slots are full. The guy at the computer store where I bought it from wants to charge me 150 dollars for tech suppoert before he'll help. I s there any way to get my PC to recognize the ram?
__________________

ron81 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I'm sorry for the typo in the subject line
__________________

ron81 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 08:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default

Check your ram again and make sure it is correctly in place. If it is check your bios and make sure the slot is not disabled or something. Plus there is also the possibility that that ram stick is dead. I would just buy another stick. Whoever wants 150 bucks to look at your ram for 5 minutes is a giant bunghole and you shouldnt listen to him. Dont allow yourself to get ripped off.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

try the 256mb stick in the slot that the 128mb is in, on it's own
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 10:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
try the 256mb stick in the slot that the 128mb is in, on it's own
Ya try that good thinking.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 01:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

and also try the 128 stick in the other slot to make sure the other slot isnt dead.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

all good ideas
u should definetly do both those things
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.