need help fast - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2006, 08:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
and 128Mb ram? that MIGHT be enough to boot windows... and use the calculator, or play solitare.
hahaha, that cracked me up.. but yeah, go with the free one, you never know.. it could be a pretty good computer.
__________________

Ksingler is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 02:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

good news i got the pc from my nan it has 256 ram but i don't quite know about the gig soon i will find out
__________________

__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 04:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

ok need some more help how do i find the gig out without opening it up i am thinking about opening it up any way to clean it and add some new gear so how do i find out the gig ?
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 06:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sales1
ok need some more help how do i find the gig out without opening it up i am thinking about opening it up any way to clean it and add some new gear so how do i find out the gig ?
"The gig"? i take it your talking about processor speed? the easiest way for you to check this is by right clicking on the my computer icon on your desktop and then it will tell you on there.

Also 256ram isnt really much so id upgrade that first to at least 512, that will speed you up somewhat.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

ok that is good but the computer doesn't have a good graphics card so i need a new graphics card and sound card some other parts
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Whats your processor speed then?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

gig means gb and the processer is a intel celron so i am not sure how fast it but a freind has the same processor and it runs all his games fine so i am sticking wth that and it also costs about 144 quid to upgrade the processor and i am not spending that on one compenet
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

would a geforce 5 ghraphics card be any good because they are lot to buy new and my friend is getting a new one and he said that i could have his old one if i wanted it would it be worth have or buy a new one
__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sales1
gig means gb and the processer is a intel celron so i am not sure how fast it but a freind has the same processor and it runs all his games fine so i am sticking wth that and it also costs about 144 quid to upgrade the processor and i am not spending that on one compenet
What do you mean your not sure how fast it is? i just told you in my other post how to find out the speed, it takes 5seconds, right click my computer icon, go to properties and then it will tell you most things in that box.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Default

thanks mate i will check that out now and post a bit later the results do you know about the graphics card at all
__________________

__________________
windows xp home edtion sp2
250gb hard drive
1024 mb of ram
intel pent 4 3.06 1mb chache
geforce 6600le graphics card
sales1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.