Need help with cable management - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2009, 12:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yzmxer608 View Post
You could zip tie your sata cable to the side of the hd cage as close to your hd as you can get it so it isn't hanging down like that. It looks like the extra cables you have are knotted together, if you straightened them out some, then sorta folded them together and secured them like that you might be able to get them out of the way some. Could probably include your 8 pin power connector in that so it won't hang down off to the side like it is now.
The extra PSU cables are zipped tied together in two groups. It's just that they are so long even folded that they don't push in all the way into the drive bay.

Are you suggesting I should try to zip tie some of my PSU cables to one of the bays? Not sure if there'd be enough room for them all.

By the way, the one SATA cable is ran through two holes on the HDD drive, so it's really not just hanging there. I'm not sure if I can zip tie them better to the HDD bay without bending them, as they stick straight out of the SATA ports - they're not angled connectors.
__________________

enarchay is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 12:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Need help with cable management

You can try to see if they fit into the bays, there is a lot there though so I'm not sure.

I see what you mean about the sata cable now.
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 12:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Default Re: Need help with cable management

Quote:
Originally Posted by yzmxer608 View Post
You can try to see if they fit into the bays, there is a lot there though so I'm not sure.
What do you mean?

Do you guys think my cable management is good enough for now? Because I really am afraid to open things up and start over - I'm worried I'll mess something up or something. I've already spent a lot of time on the computer already, even if I didn't do that great of a job. I think what might be a good idea is just to leave it alone for a few months or so, and then the next time I have some extra cash I'll buy another side fan, and either start over with cable management, or pay a local computer shop to set things up for me.

As long as my cable management isn't terrible, I'll be happy for now.

By the way, according to Core Temp, my CPU temperature is 31c, while according to Speedfan by motherboard temperature (I think that's what temp3 represents anyway) is 43c. Is that a good reading given my cable management?
enarchay is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 02:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Need help with cable management

Sorry for not clarifying, I meant you could try to fit the extra wires into the extra hd bays, but I'm not sure they will fit since there looks like there is a lot of them.

Not sure on the mobo temp, mine is about 7c cooler than that but I have a lesser system, so I would say that's fine. CPU temp is good also. If you can't do much more wire management, you could leave it for a few months and come back to it later when you get a new fan, or clean out the dust ect. It won't hurt anything the way it is now, unless you notice the temps getting a good amount higher it should be fine.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 04:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help with cable management

If you moved the cd/dvd doewn one slot, you could tuck the cable above everything. Would clean up alot.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 08:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austraila - Mars
Posts: 29
Default Re: Need help with cable management

There are some videos on Youtube about cable managment have a look at that see if you find there tips helps
CrazyMan is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 08:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Need help with cable management

That corsair PSU has a butload of cables, took me a while to get them somewhat decent. Use lots of tie wraps like other have said, they help a lot.

If you don't mind me asking but which case do you have?
__________________

dirkpitt45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Pc, cable management /cpu temp / fan cooling advice encity5 Overclocking and Modding 12 01-22-2009 06:34 AM
Cable Management FBR_BDavis Overclocking and Modding 5 10-13-2008 02:47 PM
Cable Management Method Overclocking and Modding 9 08-07-2008 11:15 AM
A patch cable with 2 switched wires is the only way a connection can be made... ?? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-12-2008 05:28 PM
Cable Management. sadisticmidget Overclocking and Modding 9 08-11-2007 03:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.