Need help buying RAM - my first time! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2007, 09:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Question Need help buying RAM - my first time!

I'm looking to upgrade the RAM in one of my computers, which is 256MB at the moment -- eeek, slow!

I'm totally new at this, and need some more info on what to look for when I go to the computer store.

Anything you can provide, or even links on how to do this stuff would be a real help!
__________________

DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: Need help buying RAM - my first time!

You can look inside the case and pull out the RAM that's in there now and there should be a sticker on it telling you the spec's you need, or you should be able to type your towers model # in google and get the memory specs that way and it will tell you the max mem supported.
__________________

qk232 is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Need help buying RAM - my first time!

download cpuz, CPUID, and then run it and go to the ram tab and you'll get the info you need.



those 2 things in the SPD category you're gonna want to write down and take to the store when you go cause that is the most important thing to know.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 11:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Need help buying RAM - my first time!

another important thing to know is how much can his mobo support...

so before you do more, look at the mainboard tab there, and tell us what kind it is.. because some mobo's won't support 512mb sticks or 1gb sticks.. and imma take a guess w/ 256 mb you've got an old system... and probably won't be able to use a 1gb stick
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Default Re: Need help buying RAM - my first time!

Finally, I'm back!

Okay, here's what I've got:

MSI 845G Max motherboard
256MB PC2100 DDR SDRAM

I'd like to add at least 512MB to it. Does that look possible?

I'd also like a little more inside info on the specs -- what is DDR and DDR2, and what is PC-xxxx and PC2-xxxx, and what is the "SD" RAM that I see on some types?
DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 101
Question Re: Need help buying RAM - my first time!

*bump*
See my last reply please....
DJ EndurancE is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Need help buying RAM - my first time!

lol im very new and don't know so much but i'll tell you what i've learnt.:happy:

Ok seems your board can take 2GB of ram so yeah you can do 512mb or more fine.

the difference between DDR and DDR2 is that DDR2 is like the next generation of ram up from DDR, basically it's twice as fast( is that correct) and is the RAM and is generally used in most computers today.

Prices for DDR ram varies ALOT, for example one site has 1gb sticks at the insane price of $150...

this is the correct ram, your probably not going to find it much cheaper and Samsung is a name brand.

Interesting that on that site 256mb and 512mb cost the same, lol.

Loading...
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MY NEW PC, Will it run crysis? mazchaz New Systems | Building and Buying 17 11-19-2007 03:33 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.