Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2008, 12:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Lightbulb Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

Take a look at this guide:
BIOS Access Keys - BIOS Setup Utility Access Keys for Popular Motherboards - ASUS MSI abit GIGABYTE Intel BIOSTAR EVGA Shuttle

Now please reboot the pc once more and pay attention to what it says to that specific key to get into bios mode, most of the time it's the delete key, other times it will be the F1 key depending on which motherboard you have.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

It clearly says in my Mobo manual.. hold down DEL key to access BIOS... but the thing is that the keyboard is not working.. at least I don't think it is.

As I said before, it will only light up if the USB cord is halfway in the USB Port.. but I don't believe that means it is working... I just went to wal-mart and bought a PS/2 keyboard.. I plugged that in and the keyboard still didnt light up.. however.. the PS/2 Keyboard lights (numlock, scrollock, etc.) stay on for a split second when I have the PS/2 plug HALF way in there.. just like the USB.. so whatever is wrong with the USB ports is also what is wrong with the PS/2 ports.

But I don't know if the USB/PS/2 ports are the problem... someone on another forum said "When your computer posts correctly, you will see text on your screen. It will tell you when to hold down the del key. "
__________________

kenny536 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Red face Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

Quote:
As I said before, it will only light up if the USB cord is halfway in the USB Port.. but I don't believe that means it is working... I just went to wal-mart and bought a PS/2 keyboard.. I plugged that in and the keyboard still didnt light up.. however.. the PS/2 Keyboard lights (numlock, scrollock, etc.) stay on for a split second when I have the PS/2 plug HALF way in there.. just like the USB.. so whatever is wrong with the USB ports is also what is wrong with the PS/2 ports.
Then that "MIGHT" be your problem right there you do not have your ps/2 cords plugged all the way in if you have it half way plugged in it just won't work right.

The best thing I can suggest now is get your digital camera take a picture of the monitor a few times to show me what it is saying and that way either I or someone else can tell you what to do from there.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 02:18 AM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

It was the RAM - I replaced the RAM and now I am getting into the BIOS screen! Such a relief.

But of course, the problems do not end there. I figured since it was the RAM this whole time, I would go back to the old UD3R GIGABYTE motherboard.. so I did that and hooked it up to the the CPU, RAM, and video card.

The problem now is that it will stay on the BIOS screen from anywhere from 2 minutes to 5 minutes... and then I lose all picture.

I'm pretty sure this is not the motherboard's fault, rather it is the video card's fault. I say this because of a couple reasons:

1. The rest of the power remains, fans still running, all lights still on - the only thing is that I lose picture.

2. When I touch the video card after only being on a little bit.. it is BURNING hot.


So I figured maybe there's something wrong with the video card... I try the other one (EVGA 8600 GTS) and that one is staying on the BIOS screen.. but it is still VERY hot.

So I figured this either meant that it's supposed to be this hot.. or this motherboard is not very good at heating the video card... ( I initially had everything in the case where the case fans were also cooling the video card, but that didn't help I believe).

So what do you think? Is it the mobo or the video card? Should I try the ASUS mobo?
kenny536 is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 11:08 AM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

I checked the temps in the BIOS - the system temp was around 40C last night and the CPU temp was like 45C.. or the other way around I don't remember. How do I check the voltages? I couldn't find a way to check the video card temperature (if there is a way in BIOS).

After I installed the OS last night, I put the 4830 in for a little while and I didn't lose picture.. it is currently in the machine now also and I am not losing picture. I'm actually touching the video card now and although it's reasonably hot, it's not blazing hot like it was last night.. the hotness it is at now may be normal. So I don't know what was up with it last night but I'm going out for 2-3 hours now and I'm going to leave the machine on, and I will see if I lose picture when I come back.

But besides that, the OS is installed! Thanks to everyone that helped, I learned a lot!
A couple more questions- I installed the OS and I changed settings in the BIOS so it is 64 bit and I put it in HTEP mode and also ACHI mode (I don't really know what all that means) - but anyways, the OS is installed, but I noticed that it is Windows Vista Business 64-bit. Does it really matter that it is Business? Should I exchange it? What's the difference?

My last question (I think) - I need to go out and buy a wireless adapter so I can have wireless internet ( I know wired is better but I'm going to try this)

This is the router I have - LINKSYS WRT54GL IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g Wireless-G Broadband Router - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833124190

What wireless adapter do you recommend for gaming? Should I cheap out and just buy one for 10-20$?

Thanks.
kenny536 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:29 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

Hello.

The computer is running beautifully. CS:Source and BF2 run flawlessly ... video-wise.

I still have one thing which frustrates me. I did not build this computer so I can lag spike every 30 seconds. It's not the computer - the PC is fine. It's my wireless internet.

Router: LINKSYS WRT54GL IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g Wireless-G Broadband Router

Newegg.com - LINKSYS WRT54GL IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g Wireless-G Broadband Router - Wireless Routers

Wireless Adapter: LINKSYS WMP54G IEEE 802.11b/g, PCI 2.2 and 2.3 32bit PCI2.2 Wireless-G Adapter Up to 54Mbps Data Rates WEP, WPA, CCX 2.0 - Retail

Newegg.com - LINKSYS WMP54G IEEE 802.11b/g, PCI 2.2 and 2.3 32bit PCI2.2 Wireless-G Adapter Up to 54Mbps Data Rates WEP, WPA, CCX 2.0 - Wireless Adapters


Yes, I know that wired is much much better for gaming, I am aware of that, but at this point that is not an option because my family hates wires.

Here is what I am going to try and I need some feedback.

I am going to install 3rd party firmware on my router (Tomato). I was deciding between Tomato and DD-WRT and I went with Tomato ... what is your opinion?

Also, I have no idea how to do this but from what I understand, it increases performance. I am hoping this will eliminate the lag spikes. I know that if I am not careful, I can "brick" my router - so if you guys have any guides on how to do this, I'd appreciate it. I was just going to google for some guides.

Secondly, I am going to replace my wireless adapter with this one:
Newegg.com - LINKSYS WMP54GS IEEE 802.11b/g 32-bit PCI Interface Wireless-G Adapter with SpeedBooster Up to 54Mbps Data Rates WEP key bits: 64Bit and 128Bit WEP and WPA - Wireless Adapters

It's basically the same one I have now, but with SpeedBooster. However, it clearly says on the box that the speedbooster mode is only available under Windows 2000 and XP. So should I not bother?
However, reading a few NewEgg reviews here : Customer Reviews Of LINKSYS WRT54GL IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g Wireless-G Broadband Router - Retail

It looks like some people have hacked the firmware and enabled speedbooster, given that they have a speedbooster wireless adapter. What do you think of this? Will hacking the firmware and enabling speedbooster still work if I have vista 64-bit? \

Will doing all this even eliminate the lag spikes?

Thanks.
kenny536 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:35 PM   #27 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

Is it this: Vista network 60 second lag spikes ?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 11:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

It might be - that sounds similar to my problem ... I will try the fix and let you know, thanks!
kenny536 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:29 AM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

I tried that fix... I restarted and then my PC couldn't even find my wireless network.. I had to go on my laptop and find that website so I can reenable it because I didn't even know what command I did. So I couldn't really test whether that fixed it because I couldn't really detect any networks with that cmd it told me to type in that fix...
kenny536 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 07:52 AM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur)

I went to cmd and typed in "ping -t 192.168.1.1"

and then it started pinging my router.

it showed this line.. one second at a time

"reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=<1ms TTL=64

occasionaly it would have a request timed out line (every 5-15 lines)

You're right kmote - the thing I noticed was that EXACTLY every 60 lines ... the time would jump from <1ms to around 600-1500 ms.. just for the one line.

I'm guessing this is the spike problem that is ****ing me off.

Based off google searches, I think problem is because of the incompatibility of the ralink rt2561 chipset for my adapter with Windows Vista 64-bit. It's actually a common problem.. called something like the vista 60 second lag spikes (1-3 second lag spikes every 60 seconds.

I say this because I have two other laptops. My laptop has XP. I tried this same cmd command on there... no major spikes...my dad's laptop is Windows Vista 64 bit (only difference is that his is home edition, the PC i just built has business edition) and that did not have any spikes as well.

So that means the only variable that remains is the adapter.. and based off google searches I think it's because it is incompatible with Vista 64-bit (I guess the laptop adapter is not the same chipset).

My friend has this router: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833166020

He has the same problem.. however, after downloading one of the ralink drivers from these forums:
Vista Forums
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/23...wmp54g-drivers

He was able to fix the spikes. He downloaded and installed the driver, and then ran a program called WLAN Optimizer.

WLAN Optimizer .NET

^ That is a fix for my exact problem.

However, I could not manage to install the rlink drivers. It kept saying unsuccessful or whatever when I clicked browse and specified the driver. It worked for him though, and he suggested that I get the same adapter as him.

What do you think?
__________________

kenny536 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a Gaming PC RawrBeast New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-26-2008 09:47 AM
Building a gaming high-end Gaming PC. PLEASE HELP CMBrooker85 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-25-2008 10:33 PM
Building a Gaming PC - $3500-3700 Budget markma2525 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-02-2007 09:53 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Noob Needs Advise for Building Gaming Comp therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 29 05-20-2007 08:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.