Need help building - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2007, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Need help building

I'm (trying to) build my first custom computer. I want quad processor and 2-4GB of RAM. I'm trying to keep it around $1000. Here's what someone has recommended to me so far:

Core 2 Quad Q6600 289.99

Gigabyte DS3R 129.99

Crucial Ballisitx 109>69.99 (40 dollar rebate)

Thermaltake Tsuanmi 109.99>89.99 (after 20 dollar rebate)

Seasonic S12 550W 129.99

Pioneer DVD +/- RW 33.99

8800GTS 289.99>269.99 (20 dollar rebate)

I also may need a new HDD. If I do, what brand would you recommend? How does this list look to you?
__________________

Puma7 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need help building

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Newegg.com - Sony NEC Optiarc Black 18X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache E-IDE / ATAPI DVD Burner - OEM
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Need help building

Nothin wrong with it @ all. Seasonic actually make Corsairs' PSUs, so they are both of an equal quality. I would go for the SeaSonic but thats just me.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need help building

Hey Puma7


SeaSonics are very good power supplies. But getting the Corsair 520HX at buy.com, you just can't beat the price, for the power is offers:

Buy.com - Corsair 520W SLI Certified Modular ATX Power Supply - CMPSU-520HX
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help building

I just bought mine from buy.com too.
Just use google checkout and you get 10 more dollars off and shipping is free.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help building

And if you dont need raid you could save money and get the same mobo for a lower price.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Reminder- this does not have raid.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 09:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Need help building

What is raid?
Puma7 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 09:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Need help building

Lol, if you don't know what it is.... you won't need it....

There are many different forms of RAID, but the most common at consumer level is RAID 0 or RAID 1. You need at least 2 hard drives for both.

RAID 0 stripes the data between the 2 hard drives. Say you have two 500 Gig drives. The RAID 0 array in your windows explorer will show up as a SINGLE 1,000 Gig drive. The down side is that if 1 of the drive dies, you lose ALLLL of the data....

RAID 1 mirrors data between the drives. Say again, you have two 500 Gig drives. The RAID 1 array will show up as a single 500 Gig drive in explorer. The upside here is that if one drive fails, you have an exact duplicate drive onhand, if all is well....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 09:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: Need help building

I always though RAID 0 didn't combine the total drive space. For example, you have 2x 80GB drives. If you put them in RAID 0, it's still 80GB. But if it is the combined total, 160GB, then I'm going RAID 0 in the future.
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a new computer Sabar New Systems | Building and Buying 44 08-23-2007 11:36 AM
Building a light table death2twinkys Off Topic Discussion 11 06-04-2007 12:19 AM
Noob Needs Advise for Building Gaming Comp therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 29 05-20-2007 08:53 PM
Help Building a CAD Comp =] GopherBallz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-19-2007 03:45 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.