Need help with a build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2007, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default Need help with a build

I am attempting to upgrade a stock model of an HP.

I need advice on a motherboard upgrade, as my current one does not support the new PSU I have purchased (current power pin on the mobo is 12x12)

I need a motherboard that supports AMD 64 X2

Has a 20 or 24 pin power connection

has at least 2 PCI-e slots

and supports at least 4gb of ddr2 ram

I'm on a bit of a budget, so low cost would be great if available.

Thanks a lot guys!
__________________

vatoreus is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 09:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

what socket CPU do you have?
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 09:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

assuming you have socket AM2, as s939 will not support DDR2:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...Subcategory=22
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 09:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Heh, that may have been relevent information. whoops.

Socket 939
vatoreus is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 09:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

wait a second...if 939 doesn't support ddr2...

MFers gipped me...
vatoreus is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 09:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

ok then... there were (at one point) a couple of mob's that did have the capability to use BOTH type but not sure now if you can get them...

but if you have S939 then:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc=
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 09:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

huh...

i just double checked with HP tech support.

Socket 939, DDR2 RAM

Do you know where I'd start looking to find a mobo with this setup?
__________________

vatoreus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.