Need help on a build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2006, 10:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Need help on a build

Hey, im planning on buildin a pair of systems for me, and my dad. We dont do like insane gaming, but I still want the pc to be capable of simple games like halo, and similar games(also want them to be able to run vista, and halo2¬Ö)
Case
MOBO/CPU
Ram
Harddrive
anything you guys think could be better?(like better/less expensive) I got a real limited bujet, I got everything else(need another monitor tho) and the total is around 300, which spares about 10 per pc. Everything here seem good enough for internet browsing, light gaming, and music? o yea, whats the oc'in ability on that cpu(athlon XP Mobile 2800? also with that mobo(pc chips a31g) whats the best cpu it can accept, incase i want to upgrade in the future.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Hmm, in this small casing, you can only install mobile CPU's for better cooling, and PC Chips (though do not recommend) is supporting 754 which has limited number of 32/64 bit processors. so you cannot expect a real future proof system with that socket. check out AMD's website for the CPU's with 754-pins and you'll know your limits.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

well i can make just one, but im still limited to 300, i can go without the case, still need a ps tho, can go without the hdd, but would like to have something i can upgrade, and something cheap, so maybe a bujet 939 mobo/cpu combo, but, i cant find one on newegg.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

k...heres a link, i guess....here
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29
Default

bujet is actually spelled budget not to nitpick...and not to go off subject. you might need a video card to do gaming cuz i dont think most onboard video cards are worth a crap
Rabbi_Bob is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i already got one...thats y i need pci x, got a xfx geforce 7300gt, and a mx4000 thats oc'ed to about the same as the 7300 if not more. yea i know onboard sucks ***, i would rather get a mobo without onboard video

i would get a full atx mobo, but i like to have a good lookin system, dont wanna waste my money on a case, and have a system that cant browse the net, but then again i dont want a system that can blow away oblivion that looks like ****. i lan game, so i need a small light case, plus im still in school, so i barley make 70bux a week, so im a lil tight on a buget, all i got saved is like 250, rest of my money goes for gas or lunch. now back on subject.

a system i was leanin for, but cost got me away, was the one in the right of my sig, i would get it, but the prob is that the ddr2 memory is so **** expensive. a 939 would be good also, but its the processor cost that drags me down, cause i need ram, psu, mobo and cpu, and its gotta be under 200, so im thinkin about a cpu/mobo set cause its cheaper, leanin for the 754, thats still got some life left on it, best cpu for it i can find is ]this and have it still in my price range, but if i had the dough(for a 754 balls to the wall cpu) i would get this. but i gotta do somethin because this p2 333mhz compaq is so slow it cant even handle the internet
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 01:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default hey

hey that computer sucks!!! buy my pc its preety decent and better then the one u wanna buy here is a picture of it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.jpg (62.1 KB, 27 views)
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 01:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i seen one of those towers before. theyre freaking huge. but i was talkin about it wit my pops and im gonna wait about 4 months and see if i can get a few hundred from the gparents, and go all out with an am2 x2 4400+, 2gb ram, 7950 KO(sli of course) 4 250gb hdd's(i wanna have a tetra) and run 2 19" monitors on it. i beleive that will come somewhere around 700, but if i dont go sli, then maybe just get another 7300GT and sli that
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 02:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default wtf

U said it will come out around $700???
The 7950 alone cost 550$ how the **** u gonna get all that for 700 hook me up bro!!!
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i was making a guesstimate. but looking at comparisn againgst the socket a, 754, and 939, the only real difference is the transfer rate, and the fsb.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.