need help with a build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default need help with a build

im planning on building a system and need some help. want to know if what i have so far will work together. and i need some suggestions on a video card

Case
Processor
motherboard
Memory
hard drive power supply cd/dvd
cpu cooling fan/heatsink
__________________

chillar is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

First of all we the people at TF cant read minds, or how deep peoples pockets are.


Second, get rid of the PSU and the CPU heatsink..


Both are awful..

Asus makes some pretty cheap PSU's while that heatsink looks like its made of plastic.

For A PSU in the same range get the Antec True Power 550....Althought its reccomended WAY too much on these forums, its about one of the better PSU's for its price range. I own it. I love it.

And for a Heatsink the only one I know of witch happens to be good for am2, is the M2 version of the Zalman CNPS 9500.

I'd also be glad to help you with picking out a video card.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Wow those 4200+'s are getting cheap!

What are you gunne get for a video card?

Also, if you give us your budget, we can work something out for you to get the best possible computer for the money.
The General is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 09:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

how is this?
psu
cooling

and also im willing to spend up to 1500. and yes i wold like some suggestions on a video card. the mb is sli, but i was wondering can i buy one video card now and it will work and buy another later or do i HAVE to have 2 of them?
chillar is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

You can use one or two video cards, SLi is optional.

Okay, I built you a really nice system on NewEgg, give me a minute to compile the links and everything.
The General is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

yea i like it. i was thinking if i should get 2 hard drives or not
chillar is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

so whats up with the bad reviews on the g.skill memory?
chillar is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

you could get 2 hard drive and run them in a raid array, prolly 0, which i think its the backup variety. that wouldnt be a bad idea if you have important documents on your comp.
__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to theprofessor17
Default

no raid 1 is file mirroring... raid 0 is data stripping (I think)
__________________

theprofessor17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.