Need Help - on board LAN doesnt work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2006, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default Need Help - on board LAN doesnt work

Hi,

I've recently bought an AOpen mx46 motherboard with a 1.6 GHz P4 cpu off ebay. It has onboard video, LAN, and Realtec audio, but the LAN doesnt work. I was able to get the drivers for all, but the LAN still doesnt work. I can only connect to the internet thru a usb to ethernet adapter and the PCI slots doesnt work as well. Can somebody help me figure out what to do? Thanks!
__________________

dgr8dude is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Hi, Have you tryed clearing the cmos/pull the battery

You are sure it is the mx46 and not one of the many simular, like the mx46 533? And you installed These drivers

If you are sure that is the board and you installed those drivers then contact the seller on Ebay or buy yourself another board.
Like this one
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

also try installing the drivers one by one
i had a similar problem with my mobo but reinstalling the drivers one by one seemed to do the trick
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 09:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks. I did installed the drivers one by one and still didnt work. here's a link of the motherboard I got from ebay. It says AOpen mx46.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...tem=6868485484
dgr8dude is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Well you need to look on the board to make sure that is the exact model number, And if it is then the onboard is probably no good. But it would probably be cheaper to just get a cheap 10/100 nic card then it would be to send it back.

Like this one
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.