need help with am3 heatsink - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2010, 02:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default need help with am3 heatsink

My Friend gave me his xigmatek dark knight but it blocks 2 of my memory slots does anyone know of any brackets that i can use so i can use this heatsink ive looked at alot of places but cant find them anywhere. I was also looking to get the Scythe Katana 3 if i couldnt get the Xigmatek one to work but wasnt sure if that was also blocking any of the ram slots.

i have a Antec 300 case and IGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P MOBO
__________________

Jiggawho is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 03:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: need help with am3 heatsink

Enzotech AM2 Retention Module - Type-X Products Model: EN-AM2-TYPE-X [EN-AM2-TYPE-X] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come

Using this, will allow for you to rotate the DK. Which should keep it from blocking the DIMM's.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 03:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: need help with am3 heatsink

Have you tried installing the RAM before the heatsink? You may find that the heatsink just clears the modules.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 04:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: need help with am3 heatsink

it doesnt
Jiggawho is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: need help with am3 heatsink

have you tried moving your ram to the slots farthest away from the cpu?
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 12:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: need help with am3 heatsink

im using all the slots.
__________________

Jiggawho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heatsink Lapping Guide Slaymate Overclocking and Modding 14 04-09-2010 08:48 AM
Aftermarket Heatsink for i7860 TheGlazer New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-13-2009 03:41 AM
Did I Install Heatsink Correctly? k0rana Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-31-2009 06:45 PM
Suggest an AM3 heatsink? KnowNothinger New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-19-2009 01:02 AM
45nm AMD Processor for AM3 only maroon1 New Technology and Products 44 05-26-2008 05:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.