Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2010, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States, Jersey
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to mastaclue00
Default Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

hey guys...I'm having a little trouble getting this to work and was wondering if I could get some help on here. After doing some research, I came to the conclusion that I was going to need an active display port to connect my TV (42LG30) to my computer (which has 2 monitors). What I would like to do is extend the display on my main screen onto my TV. So this is what I bought online:

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE DisplayPort to DVI-D Dual Link Adapter Model 100915 - Video Card Accessories

Now, before I had a VGA cable going from my comptuer to my TV so I bought a VGA to DVI adapter to connect the display port to the VGA cable. Here is the adapter:

Newegg.com - KINGWIN ADP-04 DVI-D Male (24+1 pin) To VGA HD 15 Female Adapter - Adapters & Gender Changers

After connecting everything together, I am still getting the error message that I cannot use the third monitor without disabling another one. Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong? Is it the VGA cable that is causing the problem? Thanks guys!
__________________

mastaclue00 is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

so just to be clear, you're using 2 adapters to connect your TV to your card? Does it work if you select it as the only monitor?

I'm not sure how it works exactly, but i believe that one of the DVI ports on the card is shared with either the HDMI or display port. Maybe you need to experiment using the different ports to get the correct setting.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 05:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States, Jersey
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to mastaclue00
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasaid View Post
so just to be clear, you're using 2 adapters to connect your TV to your card? Does it work if you select it as the only monitor?

I'm not sure how it works exactly, but i believe that one of the DVI ports on the card is shared with either the HDMI or display port. Maybe you need to experiment using the different ports to get the correct setting.
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I am using 2 adapters to connect my TV. And no, I cannot get it to work by itself as a monitor. I'm so confused lol. I'm trying to mess around with it now. I'll post if I find anything. Thanks guys
mastaclue00 is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

try to get it to work on its own before you try for the 3 monitor setup. do you have HDMI-in on your TV?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States, Jersey
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to mastaclue00
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasaid View Post
try to get it to work on its own before you try for the 3 monitor setup. do you have HDMI-in on your TV?
Okay. I've been trying and the only way I can get it to work on my TV is to hook it up to the DVI output and disable one of my monitors. Yes I do have an HDMI-in on my TV, however my monitor is using the HDMI port on the card right now
mastaclue00 is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 11:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

http://www.amd.com/us/Documents/Disp...nnectivity.pdf

you can see that the second column (DVI) and fourth column (HDMI) alternate native/disabled. Where the DVI is native, the HDMI is disabled; and where DVI is disabled, HDMI is native. Since you're using the HDMI, make sure you're using the right DVI port, and not the disabled one. I think configuration 6 may be most appropriate for you.... but if you can give more details about the connectivity of your monitors.. like what ports or w/e are present, we can help you more.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States, Jersey
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to mastaclue00
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasaid View Post
http://www.amd.com/us/Documents/Disp...nnectivity.pdf

you can see that the second column (DVI) and fourth column (HDMI) alternate native/disabled. Where the DVI is native, the HDMI is disabled; and where DVI is disabled, HDMI is native. Since you're using the HDMI, make sure you're using the right DVI port, and not the disabled one. I think configuration 6 may be most appropriate for you.... but if you can give more details about the connectivity of your monitors.. like what ports or w/e are present, we can help you more.
Thanks for the response. Okay I switched my connections to look like this:



I think that this is the configuration #6. Now when I try to duplicate my desktop on my main screen to my TV, my computer crashes lol. I am still having trouble getting my TV to show my computer using the displayport. Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!
mastaclue00 is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 06:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

Try this:

Display port to DVI/VGA adapter to 2nd monitor.
DVI port to DVI/VGA adapter to your TV
Keep HDMI to main monitor.

Just to clear things up, your TV worked fine with the DVI port right?

I think maybe having 2 adapters between source and monitor may be preventing the display port from working... but then why would your computer crash?! hmmm.... could be bad drivers... do you have the latest drivers from ATI? Try the different setup i told you about and report back.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 09:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

make sure everything is connected and nothing is loose and that the usb connection for the displayport adapter is also connected.

and even though i have nothing to back me on this, i also think that using an additional adapter with the displayport adapter might be causing a problem.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 09:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Need help for 3 monitors using Radeon HD 5870

Definitely make sure you are using dual link DVI connectors, here's a link so you can confirm:

Digital Visual Interface (DVI) Connector, DVI Pinout
__________________

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Updated* Laptop Graphics Cards Ranking List veg1992 Laptops and Notebooks 98 12-05-2015 10:24 PM
Official 5870 Review/Discussion Thread!!!! gurusan New Technology and Products 65 09-30-2009 06:02 PM
AMD ATi Radeon HD 5870 X2 Spotted Osiris New Technology and Products 6 09-26-2009 02:57 AM
AMD ATI Radeon HD 5870 Video Card Review Osiris New Technology and Products 1 09-23-2009 01:00 PM
Radeon HD 5870 Specs Revealed Wildside New Technology and Products 38 07-15-2009 10:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.