Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 52
Default Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

Wanting to build a PC with around 500GB of storage. Will mainly store videos and mp3's on it. Maybe play a few PC games, nothing too demanding. Burn CD/DVD's as well. Will stream the media to my Xbox 360. Want to keep costs low. Under $500 if possible.
__________________

rjm0827 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

AMD x2 3800 - 63.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103735
ABIT AN52 mobo - 69.00
Newegg.com - ABIT AN52 AM2 NVIDIA nForce 520 MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
G.Skill 2x1GB DDR2 800 - 50.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098
eVGA 8600GT - 80.00 (w/MIR)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130297
Cooler Master Centurion - 65.00
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-WWC Black/ Silver Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case PEAK: 380W Power Supply - Retail
Samsung SATA 20X DVD burner - 32.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151153
2x WD Caviar 320GB Sata 7200rpm/16mb - 160.00
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM


As is now without the rebate factored in, it's 539.00. you can shave off some if you only get one hard drive for now and get another later on, that will keep it under your budget. The reason I chose 2 hard drives is so you will not have a single point of failure for one, and also you can have the OS on one drive and your movies and what not on the other. (I have an 80GB drive for the OS and a 250GB for my media)
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 10:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

i say go with a n x2 4000 brisbane. it will run quite a bit cooler at stock speeds and only costs 3 dollars more.
otherwise, a fine build.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

Looks good. Really good. Thanks for the help. Would the AMD be better than a Intel in this scenario though? Everything I have read people prefer something like the e2180 for a budget build.
rjm0827 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 11:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

INTEL right now is better, but a little more on the expensive side... if you have room to expand your budget some then I would suggest the intel side. but AMD is cheaper, and since your not into frame rates and big time gaming, your not going to see much difference in the 2. I have the same CPU and mobo in a media build I have and for what I want it to do it rocks... and yes I have Doom 3 on it with a 7600GT and it plays just fine...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

I could get the e2180 for $90 and a decent mobo for $60-70 so it's not too much more. I'll just see what my budget looks like when I buy.
rjm0827 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

My multimedia rig runs on an AMD Athlon 2000+ with no problems. It has a MX4000 in it which allows my wife to play the games she wants to play. It also has a gig of RAM.

Unless you plan on doing some intensive gaming on it, it won't require a lot of horsepower.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
anand1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 46
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

go for AMD processor and compatible ASUS board. This will keep the prices low. And for all other peripherals choose what ever in your budget.
__________________
Technology on the Fly
anand1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 03:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

With that CPU will I be able to run LOTR online at decent settings and framerates?
rjm0827 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 03:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: Need a Cheap Multimedia PC, Help!

Oh yes... My son plays it on his computer and he as an older socket 939 3700 San Diego single core cpu and plays it great, So I KNOW a dual core will play it just fine.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.