need big help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2006, 09:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

yes a router will work if you have highspeed connected to one computer..

its pretty much plug and play.

connect your cable modem to the router. then the router will split the connection between the computers connected via wire, and laptops and other computer connected wirelessly...

wire is much much better... and i wouldn't recommend connecting a desktop wirelessly.. unless you only do mild surfing. if you use p2p networks or torrents or game online, then you'll definitely want to be connected via wire.

for laptops that don't do gaming or what i mentioned above, wireless connection is good enough.

as for monitor and OS.. i donno..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Default

You could prbly get a much cheaper case and power supply (i didn't look at the link) then 100 bucks. Im assuming budget here. So the build these fine techies have posted. Will do just awsome for your needs. And even better.
As for monitor. A CRT is cheap to buy, and most newer ones produce good picture. But they cost a **** ton to ship. While LCD's are limited at the more you spend, the bigger and better image you get. And they look sleek, sexy, ect. And are light.

I have yet to upgrade from my trusty HP CRT. It performs better then my dads 21" lcd. His is all show, no go.
__________________

__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 10:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ya $100 does seem like a lot..

BUT.. a decent powersupply goes for around $50, and a decent case will go for around $50 as well.. maybe even more... so $100 seems fair in the end...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 10:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

if u dont mind the socket 939 interface try the gigabyte GA K8N-SLI not for overclockers but cheap feature complete and very stable
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.