need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2007, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

i'm building a new computer, and it has been a while since i've done it. i'm going from a athlon xp 2200 to an athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4 with an asus a8n32-sli mother board. i have a lot of 32 bit programs, and i have a 250 gig external harddrive, will i be able to use that harddrive with out reformatting it and moving everything over dvd's? and will i still be able to use my 32-bit programs?
__________________

mk3supraman is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 02:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

Hello,

Yes to both of your questions.

However, you'll need to make sure that all your hardware devices are compatible with Windows Vista x64, because the 64-bit version only permits 'signed drivers' to be installed.

I should think that you'll be able to find 64 bit drivers for your hardware anway.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

sorry, i'm not too familiar with tech terms anymore, what do you mean by "signed drivers"
mk3supraman is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 09:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

Windows should give a driver to most of your hardware. It won't be from your hardware's disks. What I noticed when I installed Vista 64: I think all but maybe
1 driver wasn't installed (windows atomatically gives them drivers). If you have a device that windows can't find a driver for, you have to go to that manufactures website and see if they have a Vista 64 driver. ALL of my discs that came with my hardware. motherboard programs, some games, ect. didn't install! Vista will walk you through if there's a problem. I had to go on a few manufactures websites to download the programs that would run of Vista 64.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

Your external harddrive should work right off the bat. Plug it in and windows should search and find a driver for it automatically. You might have to reboot. If that doesn't work; go to manufactures website. 99% sure it will work though.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 07:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

Trust me ditch the idea of getting 64 bit version of Vista. Unless you want the hassle of not being able to run 90% of your hardware becuase the drivers cannot be digitally verified. Unlike XP and 32bit Vista, if the drivers cannot be certified you cant just carry on regardless. Your screwed. I have 32bit Vista and from experience, most if not all the drivers i have installed cannot be digitally certified but luckily i can carry on any way. 64 bit is for 10 years time when someone finally recodes all the drivers digitally. But hey its ur choice...
asad0921 is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 01:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by asad0921 View Post
Trust me ditch the idea of getting 64 bit version of Vista. Unless you want the hassle of not being able to run 90% of your hardware becuase the drivers cannot be digitally verified. Unlike XP and 32bit Vista, if the drivers cannot be certified you cant just carry on regardless. Your screwed. I have 32bit Vista and from experience, most if not all the drivers i have installed cannot be digitally certified but luckily i can carry on any way. 64 bit is for 10 years time when someone finally recodes all the drivers digitally. But hey its ur choice...
well, the reason why i'm using the 64-bit version is because my friend works at h&r block and got a 32-bit and 64-bit version of vista home for free, but he didn't want them, so he gave my friend the 32-bit and i took the 64-bit. but thanks everyone for the info.
mk3supraman is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 05:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

I haven't had any major problems at all so far with 64 bit vista. Put it in. Don't be scared by everyone how is telling you all the horror stories about it and they don't even have it. There just like the media. reporting the bad! when's the last time you turned on the news and you found out something positive?? 32 dead.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: galveston
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to danielackerman
Default Re: need advice on switching over to windows vista 64 bit

dont do it. wait untill their first big patch later this year. none of any of the major companies are going vista. its not ready for mass consumption yet.
__________________

danielackerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM
Windows Vista Online kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 03-28-2007 07:37 PM
Bluetooth on windows vista shdwsclan Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2007 12:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.