need advice about buying new pc for gaming ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default need advice about buying new pc for gaming ?

I wanted to buy a pc with an amd 64 processor and upgrade the pc with a 256 mb graphics card w/pci16x slot and i'm wondering if a gig of memory is enough for my gaming "call of duty 2" or "halflife 2" i'm just wondering which pc would be a better choice in the long run .

http://www.e4me.com/products/product...Machines_T6524

or a

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Sku=E400-T6520


both are at least 200 hard drive which isn't the issue and both run xp media center. And i heard that the t6524 model has a 939 socket which means its possible to later up date the amd 64 to an amd fx .I'm kinda of new to gaming on pcs an don't want to waste my money on a pc that won't keep up with new pc games coming out since i know pc games use alot of ram ????
__________________

samtag is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Seriously, samtag, how high can your budget go? In other words, what is the maximum you can spend for a new machine? And do you have a friend who can help you build one?
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default ?

well i have a 800 budget i was thinking about building a pc but had a lot of if ,and, or buts about it . haven't build a computer before .
samtag is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 10:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

If you can wait and save another $400.00 -$500.00 you can build yourself a very nice system. For an excellent example of what I am talking about go to www.hardocp.com and click on their article called Holiday Gift Guide (it is at the very top) and notice the type of rig you can build for $1,200. The one from Tiger Direct has integrated graphics. You wouldn't be able to upgrade the vid card with that set-up. I encourage you to find someone who can build you one.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default video card doesn't help ?

i thought a graphics card would more than likely free up the integrated graphics on the pc all i needed to do was install more memory. Thats what a friend of mine told me . That i can up grade to a higher graphics card any time i want just as long as i have enough ram to run the memory card and enough watts to run the video card since some are demanding on specific watts.
samtag is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Neither of the two you opted for would game that well =/. The second one at least has an amd though...? Hehehe? Nah. Nvm.

If you really want a gaming rig, save up n build. These are probably the most expensive pc's to build.

Free up the integrated graphics? Huh? What do these need to be freed up for? The gfx card will just replace them

Memory card? Do you mean ram or harddrive?
Camden is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default reply

to free up the ram
samtag is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default games

it would be for call of duty 2 ,halflife 2 , counterstrike, doom3,and halo2 the games that is .
samtag is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default Re: reply

Quote:
Originally posted by samtag
to free up the ram

yea, it might free up some ram; some integrated graphics take up ram; but gfx cards have their own sort of ram to run off of

Idk what more ta say =/. Are you looking for specs? Where ta start?
Camden is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
Default what type

i wanted to get http://www.e4me.com/products/produc...eMachines_T6524

add a gig of ram and add a http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...861&CatId=1560

and was wondering if this would be enough of what i need for upgrade the pc with what i want to play like the lists of games i just posted up
__________________

samtag is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.