need advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2006, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default need advice

i just need some general advice from people who have been there, done that. im finishing up my first build and im going to be firing it up pretty soon. i cant wait but i need some advice on what i should expect to go wrong or how to fix little things whether it be software, hardware, or case related. any advice would help alot. thanks all.
wes
__________________

ocftbll30 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Well when I did the same thing as you did I got some driver issues on windows. Before you boot it MAKE SURE YOU DOUBLE CHECK EVERYTHING.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

first, check all ATX power connections if it doesnt POST. then, if durring the windows installation you get BSOD, check your ram voltage. but its pretty smooth from there. it took me two hours to get mine up and running.

~jack
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to ace418
Default

If you are setting up a raid dont forget to press (i forget which button) when the windows installer is loading up in the biginning, it will say at the bottom of the screen press (F8 i think it is) for RAID support or something link that. Oh, and it has to be at least xp SP1 to install the fresh install on a SATA drive. otherwise it doesn't reconize it.
ace418 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

So long as you were smart and hooked everything up right you should have no problems. The only thing that screwed me up once was I hooked up front audio cable when I shouldn't have and so I had no audio for a while but no biggie.

Once you start the system for the first time it should beeb at you once. If it beebs at you more than once or not at all you have a problem and its time to double check everything and read the motherboard manual.

If it starts ok press the delete key to get into BIOS and there you can check to make sure that your motherboard "sees" all your drives. You can also set the system clock and make sure the CPU clock and bus speeds are correct. If all is good then just insert the Windows cd, save and exit the BIOS, and follow the instructions after the system reboots itself.
Frank_Jaeger is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 10:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

make sure that as soon as you turn on your computer, you watch to see if the heatsink fan is spinning. if it doesn't start spinning, unplug your computer immediately.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 11:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Not necessarily. The HSF may be set to come on only after the CPU warmes to X temp. If when you first turn on the computer the HSF spins for like 2 seconds and then stops, it's probably just set to turn on at X temp and everything is fine. If the fan never even flinches when you turn on the PC, double check your connections.
Frank_Jaeger is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah but if its the first time the computer's turned on, wouldn't it turn on by default?
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Mine didn't. It just started spinning for like 3-4 seconds and then stopped. Then after the CPU warmed up a little the fan started spinning again. This was the first time I booted the PC.
__________________

Frank_Jaeger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.