My upgraded budget comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2005, 02:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Lightbulb My upgraded budget comp

ok so this is my comp i just upgraded the videocard to a 6600. These are my specs. I have some extra money though that i am saving up so what new thing should i buy for my comp to upgrade it next? Any ideas? thanx guys
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 07:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default

Another 512 Mb of RAM would go a long way.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Soyo KT880 Dragon2
1 GB Corsair DDR
80 GB Western Digital HD
ATI Radeon 9800 AGP8X
TheMayorsCronie is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yeah i was kind of thinking ram to. So you think ram would be better than a new cpu and mobo? I was kind of hoping to wait anyways and see what new proccessors amd will come out with before i upgrade it. Any other ideas on what i should buy next?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Well, as I see it, if you are waiting to upgrade, I think it would do you well to get a new powersupply to eventually meet the needs of the new hardware in the future.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

btw......if i buy another 512 stick of ram for my pc does it have to be the same brand as the first one or can they be different brands? My mobo doesn't support dual channel so i am not worrying about that. My 512 stick now is pny brand, but if put another 512 stick and it was corsair brand would that make any difference? A while ago someone told me that they have to be the same brand so i was just checking.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default

I'd get the RAM now and save for a new setup. I'm going to do the same thing, get a new vid card in a month or so and then save for an unreal engine build. I'm pretty sure as long as the RAM is the same specs as the other it doesn't matter what brand it is.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Soyo KT880 Dragon2
1 GB Corsair DDR
80 GB Western Digital HD
ATI Radeon 9800 AGP8X
TheMayorsCronie is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default wait up ..............lol

i kind of wanted ram too at first but now their is this good deal at my fry's electronics. They are selling a sempron 3100+ socket 754 version plus a mobo for only $70. I have a socket A right now so i think the 754 would be a good thing to buy. Plus i can always upgrade to an athlon later. After all i dont play super high end games, Just some mid-high ones. Btw my mobo now is only agp 4x and my vid card is 8x so the new mobo will have an 8x and my vid card will run faster. What do you guys think?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 02:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

That's a really good deal, I just bet the mobo wont be very good.
Also, the 4x and 8x times don't matter as much as people think they do; you may see a small difference but it shouldn't be drastic.
No, the ram doesn't have to be the same brand, just make sure it's the same type and such. Also, try and get one with a company with good customer service; corsair offers lifetime on their ram, for example.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 02:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

yea the mobo isnt too good it is an ecs though
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 03:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I also saw this at newegg.com. If i buy this athlon xp i wont have to get a new mobo. How much better is this cpu than the one i already have now(sempron 2800)? If the xp is way bettter than i might consider buying it. Do you think it would be better to get this athlon xp 2800+ or just to get the sempron 64 3100+ with a socket 754 mobo?

Here is the cpu i am talking about
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103509

thanx a lot guys for all your insight.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.