My Supposed "Gaming PC" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2013, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default My Supposed "Gaming PC"

Alright, i'll get right to the point...

http://i.imgur.com/Bgf2xHp.jpg

Right then, so what can and can't I do to it, in what way can I upgrade it, i'm also open to any -$160 Graphic Card suggestions
__________________

Xalidan8162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 09:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

It's not a bad start honestly. Upgrade the RAM to 8GB 1600 as soon as you can, because prices are increasing quick on DDR3. The best card you could get for 160 is this.
Newegg.com - EVGA 01G-P4-3656-KR GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST Superclocked 1GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 SLI Support Video Card

If you gained another 40 bucks you could get a GTX 760 which is much better.

Without a complete motherboard/CPU upgrade your only other options would be to make sure you have a quality PSU (Corsair/Seasonic/Antec) in your machine and last but should really be first an SSD.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 04:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 235
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

You would need another $100 for a 760. They are $250, but well worth it.
bpm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

Didn't take long for them to bump up 50 bucks.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

but i do have 8gb ram
Xalidan8162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

Yea didn't see that in the morning when I typed it up because I only saw the bottom left screen for RAM.

Either way, the rest still applies.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

Oh and that card you linked...i just buy it and slap it on, right?
And will it run flawlessly if I do so...unless there's something else that I need to be aware of.
Xalidan8162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

If you buy it you'll have to uninstall your AMD Catalyst/video drivers first, then take the 7770 out, then install the 650ti Boost, and install the Nvidia drivers. Other than that, should be fine unless there are case or PSU limitations.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

let's say there are case limitations, can I mexican my way past that? Also, PSu...i'm guessing you mean power supply? If so, that's a Diablotek PHD Series 450 Watt ATX Power Supply
Xalidan8162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: My Supposed "Gaming PC"

What is the case? Because usually not.

PSU should be fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.