My soon to be new pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2006, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Default My soon to be new pc

Already have Keyboard, mouse, moniter (not hdtv but dvi compatible), and sound card.

case mobo gpu cpu
dvd burner

Now is there anything missing in this setup to make it work right?
ex: needs more cooling components, needs a better power supply, motherboard won't fit in case...etc

av8706 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611

Try posting links to all your stuff, that way we can go to new egg and read all the specs. Plus it's hard to read when it's that small.

spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18

Hey can anyone tell me if this would make an alright computer....
av8706 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 05:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
M733mhz's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz

That would make a **** fine computer my honkey friend.

M733mhz is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 07:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 49

I've built a computer with the same chipset as your mobo and I was happy with the performance. That is a micro-ATX motherboard, if I am not mistaken. This is just my personal view, but I would go with an ATX board if I was going to put in a video card and not use the onboard graphics. Nice cpu.

dmj94044 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 08:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

may I suggest this for the CPU:
the mobo is normal ATX. Your good with that one... but it does have integrated graphics, so you will have to go into the bios and set the first video as PCI-e when you finally get it built. I personal,ly go for a board now that does NOT have on board if I know I'm building with a card in mind...

I suggest the opty for the CPU, only becase of the L2 Cache. it's one 1mb, vice 512kb... better performance over all and a few bucks cheaper...


Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.