My Rig + What Should I Upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2010, 01:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Question My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

I built my PC at the end of 07 on a semi-tight budget.. but I think I did a great job at the time. I did later upgrade the video card and I capped out my RAM so those are listed as what I have now.

Here's what I made:
250 GB Seagate HD, Windows XP 32 bit, 3.3gig DDR2 800 RAM (I think this is the hard cap for 32 bit XP, but 4gb total)
My Motherboard
Radeon 4870 Video Card
My Case
My CPU which I have OCed to 2.5ghz
My PSU

Anyways, this is what I have right now. I'm wondering if it would be worth it to upgrade my CPU to say like one of these: Option 1 (2.93ghz Duo) or Option 2 (2.6ghz Duo).

I'd like to know 1) If my PSU would support that upgrade (I think it would).. and 2) If it's even worth it at this point, not sure what kinda performance increase I'd see upgrading the CPU.

I know my OS is possibly a bit behind the times, but I do have plan to upgrade to Windows 7 64 bit, I just haven't got around to it yet because I'd have to wipe my whole HD, need to back it up or something first.

Anyways, thanks in advance for any advice.
__________________

Tinsil is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Here's the list of compatible CPUs for your board:
Universal abit > CPU Support List

If you can swing it, you could go with a quad.

As for your PSU, check out the PSU guide here on Tech-Forums. It will let you know what is good and what is garbage. A solid PSU is a must. You have a 550W; a better CPU won't draw much more than what you already have so you are good as far as wattage goes.

Once you use 7 you won't want to go back to XP.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 03:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Okay so more like this for a CPU?

Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale 2.8GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80571E6300

I'm interested in what kind of increase I'd see by upgrading to something like this over the stock 2.0 one I have OCed to 2.5 right now. Worth the $80?

Also, why are some of the Core 2's on that list not listed? They look like they'd be compatible.. can't see any reason they wouldn't be. For example, the two I put in the original post.. According to that list they wouldn't work??

Ty for the help.
Tinsil is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

They are Wolfdales which is a different architecture. Same for the chip you linked to above. They may work, but then again they probably wouldn't.

The E6300 your mobo can run is a 1.86GHz chip.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 12:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Okay ty.

Do you have any recommendation on what to upgrade my CPU to then?
Tinsil is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 12:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Depends on your budget. I would go for a quad if at all possible.

When comparing chips, try to remember that you can only compare GHz when the chips use the same core/architecture. Different architectures can be much more efficient that others, with the newer being much faster per clock cycle than the old.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default

I'm not understanding.. Core 2 Quad is really a Quad core then?

All the 775 Duos on newegg or wolfdale's so I'm kinda lost what to get then..

Ty for the quick response.

Trying to keep it about $100-125 for the CPU.. I don't do THAT much high-end stuff.

Would I notice a huge difference by upgrading to this?

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 Yorkfield 2.5GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80580Q8300
Tinsil is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 01:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

Yes you will... Its a much better design than the e2180 with 1mb of L1 cache vs the q8300s 4mb.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 01:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

+1 to patonb's response.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 06:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: My Rig + What Should I Upgrade?

The IP35-E does support wolfdales and yorkfields however only the initial revisions (C0, M0, E0) are supported since abit wet out of business before the current revision (R0) of the low end chips was released.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade my semi-outdated gaming rig - proc, power supply and g-card remedy System Upgrades 27 02-05-2010 11:56 PM
can i install windows from a copied cd onto a licenced pc? raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-23-2009 03:08 PM
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.