Is my PSU sufficient? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2008, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Is my PSU sufficient?

well i know i've asked this a few times befor (2 times exactly) but i've changed the thing around 2 or 3 different times

i'm just wondering what size i would need

the parts i am going to have in it is -

Mobo - DS3R
ram - 4GB OCZ 4-4-4-12 timeings
hdd - 2x 500gb western digital
cpu - either Q6600 or Q9450 (if i have the money)
gpu - 3870 x2 1gb
going to have 2 dvd drives and a card reader

now what would be the minimum power supply for it, i might upgrade the ram and a extra hdd later in the year (if i can afford) so i would 2x the ram and put 1 more hdd in

my psu at the minute is a 550VX
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is my PSU sufficient?

a 550vx would do fine, you might want to get a 520hx or 620hx if you want more head room, its only like $20 more.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Is my PSU sufficient?

550VX, more than enough.

only difference between the 620HX and 520HX is the 620HX has a few more amps on the non 12V rails.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is my PSU sufficient?

and their modular.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Is my PSU sufficient?

Also, you really shouldn't go higher than 4GB of RAM. Any more than that and it will not show much benefit at all.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Is my PSU sufficient?

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Also, you really shouldn't go higher than 4GB of RAM. Any more than that and it will not show much benefit at all.
thats pretty much true but i would do it because i can not because i must

and thanks guys
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 11:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Is my PSU sufficient?

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
thats pretty much true but i would do it because i can not because i must
Hahaha, well in that case go for it!

It would atleast serve to say that you could have many many MANY applications or virtual machines running and still be relatively ok.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Is my PSU sufficient?

Or s/he could flip through movies and games like a giggle fit. I have two gigs of RAM and I can get away with running all the Adobe CS3 Products and still play whatever game peaks my interest at the time. Going over four gigs is hardly needed by anyone unless like the previous person said - you're going to be dumping a lot of Virtual Machines on to your computer.
__________________

RobertKet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
Will a 500W PSU be sufficient? Disillusion New Systems | Building and Buying 28 11-11-2007 02:51 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.