Is my PSU propietary or not??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2006, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Question Is my PSU propietary or not???

Hi I have a Presario 5000 (5330US) with a broken fan on the PSU. I removed the unit from my computer to a take look, and discovered it was not meant to be taken apart.

The OEM part I need (compaq part: 244166-001) retails for $90+ .
Also it is only 250W.

So my question is, does anyone know if I can use a non-compaq PSU? Someone mentioned to me my PSU looked pretty "thin", so it might be propietary.

And if it is not propietary which PSU should buy (recommendations, wattage, etc)?

Here are some pictures of it, I dont know if it helps or not:





__________________

addnon is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Can you show us a pic of your motherboard power connector? If its a 20-pin connector you should be able to use any ATX PSU with it.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 01:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Ok I will check.

However do I need to use a ATX PSU or a mATX PSU, because Im not sure what size my case is..(I'm thinking it might be mATX)..
addnon is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The best way to check would be to break out the tape measure.

Check the dimensions of your PSU against those of the PSUs on the market to see if any fit. Oh, and making sure about the power connector could be important as well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Here is a picture of my power connector. Is this a propietary PSU or not??

addnon is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

P1, AKA 20/24 Pin power connector. Looks like a Normal to me....
Ste is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Thats a 24 pin connector. But its not just the power connector, they also make the psu in an odd shape.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

so am I good to just buy any 300 watt atx psu? and brand recommendations?
__________________

addnon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.