This Is My New Set Up, What Do You Think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Question This Is My New Set Up, What Do You Think?

mobo - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128268

CPU -
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

Vid Card - RADEON X800PRO PCIE 256M V/VIVO/D

Case -
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144010

RAM -
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

Still don't have a hard drive, optic drive, or fans (other then the ones that come with the case and the cpu.)

I wanna use this computer to play games (personal use) and use autoCAD and Photoshop (for work).

What do you think? Is it a good set up?

I am wondering if you guys think I need to get a new psu? Also I am concerned about cooling. Should I get more fans? if so what kind?

Thanks you guys rock!
Andy
__________________

andy43 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Great CPU and good value select RAM. The power supply that comes with the case is onre that I would be highly suspicious of because I have heard too many bad thing about Aspire power supplies. I would invest in a decent case and purchase the power supply separately such as an Enermax or Antec. I don't know enough about the motherboard.
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 03:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

how many watts should I go with?
andy43 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

500 or so. i've only got a 450w and seem to be ok so far.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

right on, thanks
andy43 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 05:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

What about fans? do you think I need more fans?
andy43 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 74
Default

NICE SETUP DUDE!
definatly would change the PSU though
i found that they usally put a pretty crappy PSU with a case even the nice ones.
try out the antec sli 550wt

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103932
__________________
!!!!NEW BUILD!!!!
Asus A8n SLI-939 deluxe
Athlon 64 3000+
Antec SLI ready 550wt PSU
AMD Athlon64 3200+
320+ gb of hd
1Gb Kingston HyperX pc3200/400Mz
xfx 6800 extreme 256Mb FOC
antech p180
Lord Leviathan is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 07:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Really good that is similar to the one i want to upgrade to. I have a socket A rig right now but i am getting a 939 rig soon and it is going to be like yours except i always go with nvidia for video cards
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 10:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

That many fans is fine. I, personally might get one more 80mm fan, though, just for good measure.

You will likely be fine with that PSU. I've used both Generic-with-case PSUs and the fancier nice ones. I like the one I have now due to it's modular design (You only plug in the cables that you need). But, like I say that PSU should be fine.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 11:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 68
Default

I just picked up a hard drive fan, should I put it in or no?
__________________

andy43 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.