My new gaming comp build, need to confirm it will work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2005, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default My new gaming comp build, need to confirm it will work

Hey guys,

I just finished the "to buy" list for building my first gaming desktop. I just need to know if it wil work and all the parts will interact with eachother in the right way.

Heres the build:

My Build

Athlon 64 3500+

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16819103533 201



2GB RAM 218

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820227210


EVGA GEFORCE 6800GS 256-P2-N386 VIDEO CARD
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16814130258 209




DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813136152 113



SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 80G HARDDRIVE
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822148040 62


52x CD-RW/DVD-ROM : PLEXTOR Beige 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 16X DVD-R 4X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache IDE DVD Burner - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16827131356 (maybe) 79

Windows XP Home
Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811146017





a Few other questions, I can use 2 1gb RAM sticks cant I? I dont need a sound card do it? And I do need a thing for wireless internet right? That goes into the computer?
__________________

craycoolz199 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 10:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

for some reason the links dont work for me. It looks good, i just dont know what type of ram you chose. Im assuming its ddr1, so you should be fine.

You are missing some parts to the pc though. You need a PSU. I would recommend fortron, Zippy, they are very good are at good prices.

You need a wireless adapter for you pc that goes into a pci slot, or one that is USB. You will also need a wireless router or access point.

Using 2x1gb stick will work fine.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

K thanks. But whats a PCU?
craycoolz199 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by craycoolz199
K thanks. But whats a PCU?


Psu = power supply

None of the links work for me either ~_~. But I have nothing better to do right now (in class ) So ima go search em ^.^
Camden is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Ah, the case comes with a 500W power supply.
craycoolz199 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

The mobo, ram, and cpu are all compatable.... couldn't find the others. Good choices though
__________________

Camden is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.