My new computer - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2006, 04:08 PM   #41 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

ok, lemme get a list. what sizes do you want, the stats of the case seem to say you have two 80mm fans already installed, with room for three more, two of which can be 92mm. so, what do you want.

and what kind of noise you want, loud w/ good cooling, or quiet with less cooling.

-Phate
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 04:15 PM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

heres a good 80mm case fan, and you can save money by buying in bulk

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835150007

also, heres a great 92mm fan. its loud, but it cools like a mah fah . i have only one fan in my entire computer, and its this one, and it keeps my computer nice and cool, all the time, even with my upgrades (2gb heatsinked ram, 6600GT video card)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835119034

-Phate
__________________

__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:11 PM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

ok sorry to waste your time but i ahve read loads of reviews saying its easily enough power.
neilnpatel is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:20 PM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

a 250W? with a 7900GT? sure, it will POWER it, but will it operate like a 7900GT? no.

-Phate
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:22 PM   #45 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Default

it might operate like a 6600 or something, but you need more power if you want to get the power of a 7900GT.

-Phate

P.S. get a Fortron 400W, its $40, will last a long time, and either way, it just makes youre computer better, so why skimp out on a PSU? thats what keeps youre computer running!
__________________


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
-Shakespeare
Phate is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:41 AM   #46 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

http://www.sudhian.com/index.php?/fo...wthread/92077/

Read the first post after the bump, people are soo funny. A 250W is not going anywhere, and the thing is he's sooo freaking confident that it will LMAO.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:48 AM   #47 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

A 250W can even RUN it?
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:58 AM   #48 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I don't even think so.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 04:01 AM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 109
Default

yhe i kno, but there were reviews with a 7800-less efficient, which scored well in 3d mark 05-like 9000 or something./
neilnpatel is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 04:21 AM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

This is just the old parts, I maxed out everything hoping to get an equivelant of what your setup (3800, 6800XT and all USB devices plugged in) should add up to. And of course, I got 300+

Note that PSUs run at 70% most of the time and devices sometimes take more than 100% of their required wattage when under stress.

In simple terms, your forum is full of noobs. If you can prove me by showing that 250 can efficently power your setup under full stress, then please email me and I will apologize to everyone on that forum for calling them a noob.

edit: Proven again here:http://www.schrockinnovations.com/powercalc.php

Lets just say Shuttle PSUs run at 100% efficency 24/7 (impossible unless you live in Antarctica and your computer is outside), that is still 13W under the MINIMUM requirement. Lets just say all the wattage are overrated from the companies. You still only have a 5-10W margin, this is definately too low for that kind of equipment!
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.