my new comp need info - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 09:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default my new comp need info

ok ive just bought all the bits for my new system this is what i have

Abit AN8 SLi NF4 S939 PCI-E 2GHz HT DualDDR400 SATA 3G Raid NV GBit Lan USB2/1394

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4200+ S939 512K (2.2) Retail inc Heat Sink Fan & 3 Years Warranty

1 Gb (2 x 512Mb) Corsair TwinX, DDR, PC3200C2PRO, Cas 2, LED Activity Lights, Lifetime Warranty

256Mb Asus PCI-E EN7800GT/2DHTV nVIDIA® GeForce 7800GT DDR3 ViVo HDTV-Out Dual DVI

theres a few things i need info on,first of all is this board 20 or 24 pin conector if 24 will i get an adapter for it or will i have to buy one seperate

also do you have to buy the new windows xp 64 bit operating system or just upgrade my copy of xp pro 32 bit

thanks in advance mlr
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default Re: my new comp need info

Quote:
Originally posted by mlr
theres a few things i need info on,first of all is this board 20 or 24 pin conector if 24 will i get an adapter for it or will i have to buy one seperate
I don't quite follow...do you have a 20 pin PSU now, and want to know if you need an adaptor to make it work with a 24-pin mobo (which that mobo is). If so, the answer is no: you really should get a new PSU.

And no, you won't need a copy of XP 64 to run on this thing. IMHO, it's not worth the trouble as of now.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

but i dont want to get a new psu,i only bought this 1 month ago its the ultra connect 500 psu shown hear http://www.auphanonline.com/articles...rticle_id=1668

so im hping i can get a 24 pin adapter for it
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Oh wow, I feel sorry for you. Now I KNOW that you need a new PSU. Not only has it been rated low by the mags I read, it fried a member's comp (PZEROFGH I believe...)
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.